Friday, June 21, 2019

Chapter Six



“Ok so who’s going to start?” Richie asked them as he was curious to what was going on with them.
Both of them started in on each other speaking or trying to talk over each other stating that it was the other’s fault as they both were very animated in their movements as Richie watched both of them. He found this very entertaining. He tried very hard not to laugh at either of them as they went at each other but he couldn’t help it. Neither of them were making much sense at this point. So he started to laugh and he really laugh out loud. One of those belly laughs that if you were enjoying a movie you would laugh right along. But instead Jon and Ellie finally heard him as they were going at it when they realized he wasn’t listening but laughing at them. Ellie’s eyes went wide as she stopped dead in her tracks and Jon just stopped dead as he turned his head as his mouth was open. For a moment he was speechless. For a moment.
Getting himself together Jon finally and loudly yelled, “WHAT THE FUCK DO YOU THINK IS SO FUNNY SAMBORA?”
Ellie was still just sitting there trying to figure out herself what was so funny but the look on Richie’s face was priceless. But she knew Jon long enough not to laugh or but in right this minute.
Trying to catch his breath he inhaled and finally was able to speak as he caught his breath. “You…you two are. Oh God. You should have seen the two of you when I asked you guys that question. You two went at each other like two feral cats. Oh my God my sides hurt.”
Looking at him pissed Jon said, “You’re an ass Sambora you do know that right?”
Shaking his head yes, “Yeah I now but so are you. Look I asked you to explain to me what the hell was going on and before I even finished the two of you just jumped on each other. What the hell was that? Look you two are crazy about each other so I’m going to remind you two of this.” He told them smiling evilly. 
“Look you don’t have to do that. I know how lucky I am that Jon came back into my life and that he accepted me and wasn’t pissed about Jimmy. I know what I have but sometimes I think that you’re sorry you got yourself into this. And you know our deal you can tell me anything and if you don’t want this anymore I’ll understand.” She told him trying really hard to hold back the tears. Jon just sat there listening, not knowing what to say.
“If you want we could try a trial separation or whatever you need I’ll understand Jon. I know you’re going through something and I want you to be able to fix what you have too. I’ll do anything for you.” She told him as a few tears ran down her cheeks. Richie wanted to get up and comfort her but knew Jon would kill him. But it would only be as a friend nothing more. But Jon beat him to it and Richie was relieved.
Pushing himself over to her he took her hand, “Ellie, my Ellie, I fell in love with you when we were sixteen and it sure as hell wasn’t puppy love. I thought I was going to die when I saw your parents drive away with you that day. You looking at me from the backseat crying like that. I just wanted to run after you. But I couldn’t move. My legs, I couldn’t move my legs and I just stood in the right side of the road til your Aunt came and got me to go home. I guess I was hoping that they were going to change their minds. Then years later Rich, Spanky and I were looking for some accessories and stuff in this store far away from home and Boom there you were just as if not more beautiful than when I first met you. I thought I was seeing things but there you were. Funny I had to run after you again. I always seem to do the chasing huh?” he asked her grinning.
“Excuse me?” she hits him with a pillow.
“Hey!” he yelps laughing.
“Don’t even go there pal you know I tried to find you.” She told him as she tried to push him off the bed with her feet but he grabbed them as she was kicking.
Letting go, “Yes I know, I know you did and that’s the past ok? No I don’t want a trial separation or anything like that. I’m just off of the longest tour with you here with our son. It was bad enough that I only saw you when we could steal some time together. So no we are not living apart again for a while you got that?” he told her taking her face in his hand.
Richie was smiling happily as Ellie asked, “So can I now have this bedroom cleaned top to bottom so I can move back in here Sweetie? Because I’m not as it still smells a little.” She told him wrinkling her nose. Again Richie started laughing.
Jon turning to him, “You know you can leave now asshat.”
“Who me?” Richie asked as he pointed to himself.
“Yeah you.” Jon said grinning.
“Ok you boys now play nice.” She chuckled to them. But she still had that question in the back of her head and she wondered now that Richie was with them to ask them together. The guys started in on each other playfully as she sat there watching them. She decided to keep her mouth shut as she saw her husband’s mood change for the better. She got up and headed for the bedroom door.
Jon looked up and asked her, “Hey El where are you going?”
“Oh I still have some things to do in the kitchen. I’ll be back in a bit.” She said to them as she headed out. They just sat there staring at each other in bewilderment.
Jon looked at Richie and asked him, “Were we just set up?” he asked confused.
“I don’t know but if we were then we were by an expert.” He told him shaking his head in amusement. “She good.” He also added.
“Yeah she is. “Jon agreed. “Hey um God I don’t even know how to bring this up.” Jon said to Rich as he got up and started to pace.
Richie just looked at him puzzled. “Well the best way is just to say it.” He told him.
Jon hemmed and hawed about it not sure that he wanted to broach the subject that was long dead between them. But the way Ellie was talking to him about it, it didn’t seem she was going to let it go anytime soon.
“God! Ellie brought up something that I thought was long dead.” He told him wringing his hands thru his hair. 
Richie just looked at him confused at first when all of a sudden it hit him like a ton of bricks. “OH SHIT! How the hell did she find out Jon?” he wanted to know nervously.
“Well she said it didn’t take a brain surgeon to figure it out. The way we look at each other for one. Oh and the way we act on stage with each other is another dead giveaway. I didn’t even realize we did that. I think I’m going to be sick.” He told his best friend and best friend he thought as he sat down as he put his head between his legs.
Looking at Jon, “You know you really are the dramatic one in this relationship you know.” He told him as he tried to figure a way to explain this to Ellie.
“You know you really are an Asshole you know?” Jon told him turning green.
“Well it’s better than trying to forget that it ever happened Jon. So we fooled around big deal just deal with it. We were just kids. Plus we were high or drunk at the time and lonely. And we found each other attractive big deal. You’re pretty when your all dressed up in make-up.” Richie told him batting his eyes smiling.
Looking at him pissed Jon said to him angrily, “I’m going to punch you! I’m sick to my stomach and you want to joke about this?”
“Oh come on do you think she’s going to love you any less? You just told me she knows. Did she say she wanted a divorce?” he asked him curious.
Looking up at him now. “No.”
“Then what the hell is wrong then?” Richie wanted to know.
“How can you be calm with this?” Jon wanted to know because he was a wreck about this.
Just then Ellie walked back into the bedroom and saw Jon with his head down between his legs and Richie talking to him smirking.
“What’s going on in here? And why does Jon look like he’s about to faint? Honey are you ok?” she asked concerned for her husband.
“Oh he’s fine but I see he’s still a Diva thou.” Richie replied to her chuckling.
Jon finally sat up and responded to him. “You know you are a Fucker Rich.”
Ellie just kept looking between the two of them as they kept hurling insults at each other. When finally she had enough. “Ok knock it off! What the hell is going on here?” she demanded to know.
“Well apparently you talked to your husband about…” but Jon gave him the stink eye to shut up but of course Richie never listen to him anyway. “Sorry Kidd but you know that never works with me. Ellie you said you heard a rumor about me and Jon well yeah that was true.” He told her as she sat there and didn’t know what to say when the truth finally came out. Jon on the other hand flipped out.
“RICHIE! Why? Why did you have to verify the truth to her huh? I need to run into the bathroom…” and he just made it as they could hear him heave.
Finally Ellie came out of it and asked Richie, “Sh…Should I go I in there and help him?” she asked.
“I wouldn’t he really needs his space right now.” Rich told her. “Look Ellie what happened between me and Jon, um that was in the past I hope you know that right? We were just kids when that happened and our girlfriends had just dumped us for the first round when we first all got together and we just really did dumb stuff when you’re on stuff you know.” Richie tried to tell her.
She looked at him and had to ask this question. “I hate to ask this Rich and I know it was after me but, you guys were on something I take it right?”
Shaking his head yes, “Yeah we were stupid then Darling. Drugs and booze don’t go together. And you do know how pretty your husband can be especially when your high, drunk or both. Plus we use to do a glam thing for a while (looking around to make sure Jon wasn’t visible) and with make-up on Jon is really gorgeous.” He chuckled.
Trying not to chuckle herself, “I bet he is. To tell you the truth I wouldn’t mind seeing him in that myself. I don’t think he realizes just how much I love him and wouldn’t care if he was bald. He’s changed Richie. He’s not the Jon I used to know when I first met him or the Jon when we met for the second time either. It’s like I don’t know him at all anymore. Like he doesn’t want me or Jimmy anymore. But he just says the words I want to hear.” She said when they heard the bathroom door open and Jon walk out.
They both looked at him as he walked over to her. “You really think that? That you don’t think you know me anymore? That I don’t want you or Jimmy?” he asked her shocked. She stood as Richie got up to leave them alone. Jon quickly said, “No Rich don’t leave please.” Richie went over to the love seat that they had in their room and sat as Jon took Ellie’s hand and asked her, “Don’t you ever think that I don’t want you or Jimmy I told you this. Get that out of your thick skull right now. You two are the best things that have ever happened to me and I don’t regret one day ok? And I promise I’ll do what the doctor wants me to do. I want to get better I really do. I love you guys. Now how about I grab a few things and I stay with you in the guest room and we get a decorator to redo this room, what do you say?”
Smiling from ear to ear, “Oh Jon I would love that!” as she grabbed him and kissed him hard.
“Well with that said I’m going to bed.” Richie told them as he got up. 
“Not quite. We still have the matter on what we all were taking about. Look what happened in the early eighties Babe between me and Richie, well that’s between him and I ok? It doesn’t have anything to do with you or our relationship. Except he’s my best friend and that’s it.  Do you understand that?” he wanted to know.
“Of course I do Honey and I’m sorry I brought it up. But like I said it really doesn’t bother me because I get it I really do. It had to do with the circumstances and your relationship with each other. I just wish I had a friend like Richie when I needed one. Ok I’ll go turn down the bed and meet you there when you’re ready. Night Rich.” She said as she turned and left the room. 
After she left the room Richie looked at Jon and said to him, “You lucky Bastard!”
Looking shocked and a little pleased with himself he asked him, “What?”
“You know damn well. She knows the whole deal with us and she still doesn’t care. Dotty freaked the hell out and gave you an ultimatum when she found out and told you to stay the hell away from me. No partying, no being alone together which kinda makes it hard to write songs together Kidd, no nothing. Then along comes Ellie and Boom! She says, “Oh I’m fine with it.” Yeah you do have that horseshoe nice and tight up that ass don’t you?” he said giving him the Jersey salute.
“Shut the fuck up will ya. Can I help it if she loves me?” He said opening his arms wide and taking a bow.
“Yeah I’m the ass.” Rich said shaking his head chuckling. “Look I’ll see you in the morning try not to blow it will ya.” He told him as he left him as Jon put on some clean sweats to join Ellie.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ellie was a little nervous about Jon joining her seeing that it had been a while since they had slept together, one way or the other. She put on one of her long t-shirts and took her hair out of her ponytail and let it loose. Jon liked her hair loose and flowing. She turned down the bed and got in on her side and picked up her book and waited for him to come in.
It was about a half hour when he walked in with nothing but his sweatpants on as he knocked on the door before he entered. He wasn’t sure if he should just walk in or not. Funny how they were walking on eggshells with one another.
She looked up from her book, “Jon?”
“Hi, I was afraid you’d be sleep.” He said as he walked in and shut the door. Then he strutted over to his side of the bed. “I see you still like the right side.” He smiled.
Looking at him a little confused, “Yeah I guess. Just because I’m sleeping in here alone doesn’t mean I’m going to sleep on a different side of the bed.”
“Yeah I guess. I slept in the middle or all over.” He told her not really knowing what he was saying now.
Giggling, “Yeah I know I would look in on you just to make sure you were alright. But don’t think you’re going to do that tonight because I’ll roll you right off of the bed got it?” she told him still giggling.
Sitting now on his side still smiling, “Yeah I got it. I don’t remember it being this hard for us to make conversation.” He told her.
Shaking her head no, “No it wasn’t but it will get easier we just need to ease into it.”
“I guess. Look I don’t expect anything tonight, you know sex wise. But if I could I would love to at least hold you if I could.” He tried to get out as he looked down at the bed.
“Hey I’m right here you know.” She told him as she reached out for his hand.
Taking her hand in his, “I know and thank you.”
“For what?” she asked him.
“For not taking Jimmy and leaving me when I knew you should have.” He told her with tears in his eyes.
“Hey we said vows to each other Babe. I happen to take them very seriously you know that. I love you so very, very much and I’d die for you. Let’s just get some sleep ok? And yes I would love you hold me tonight.” She told him lovingly.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The next few weeks everything seemed to go fine and Jon was doing what he was supposed to do. Richie was helping out with Jimmy, taking him to and from school so Ellie could dote on Jon. Even Carol seemed happy with the arrangement as long as she could see her son when she wanted. But Jon was just going thru the motions to appease everyone but himself. He was really trying to make everyone happy but only making himself more miserable. Ellie had taken him to his weekly checkup and his doctor recommended that he see someone to talk to. He had notice that Jon was still withdrawn and maybe seeing a psychiatrist would help him immensely. Of course Jon didn’t like that idea but he was going to keep that to himself for now so he just listened and smiled at the doc and told him that he would have to think about it and would give him his answer on his next visit.
On the way home Ellie knew he was quiet so she took a chance at being snapped at and asked him if there was anything wrong.
“Jon, Honey are you ok? You’ve been awfully quiet since we left the doctor’s office.” She asked him as she tried looking at him but he was looking out of the window as they were driving along. “Jon you with me?”
“Yeah I hear you Babe.” He said still staring out of the window.
“Did everything go ok with Dr. Hathaway?” she wanted to know.
Hesitating he said, “Yeah everything was fine. He just suggested that I see a shrink that’s all.” He replied without emotion.
Well that wasn’t good she thought. She knew what he thought about shrinks. “Oh well um did you happen to give him an answer?” she asked carefully.
Still staring out the window, “No I told him I’d probably give him one next time I’d see him.”
“Ok.” She really didn’t know what else to say to that or the way he was acting for that matter. She knew he didn’t like the idea or the conversation only because he wasn’t looking at her. Boy the rest of the day is going to be really great she could see. She was about a mile from their exit when all of a sudden before she could get in the first lane Jon opened his door and looked like he was going to jump out. Luckily Ellie had fast reflexes and grabbed him by his shoulder and yanked hard! And all the while swerved the car into the slow lane and then into the breakdown lane and came to a dead stop. She was shaking like a leaf but before she could yell at him Jon turned to her and started in.
“What the HELL do you think you were doing!” Jon screamed at her.
Turning to her husband in shock she just looked at him and laid back into him smacking him on his arms and chest. “What the Hell Jon! What the fuck do you think you were doing! Trying to jump the fuck out of the fucking car!” she was screaming and all the while Jon was trying to duck and cover and trying to grab her hands all at the same time.
“I’m sorry! I’m sorry! I wasn’t thinking ok. Baby I wasn’t thinking. I don’t know why I opened it I’m sorry.” He was pleading with her when he finally had a good grip on her.
Crying now she broke down completely in his arms just before she laid into him. “You Son-of-a-Bitch! Do you know what you would have put me thru if you had gone thru with it? Do you! Do you even know how much I even love you? How much Jimmy loves you? Or what we are going thru right now tip toeing around you to make sure we don’t do anything wrong so you won’t get mad at us? Then you go and do something stupid like this? Did I do something so wrong to make you want to leave us Jon? Did I?” she asked him crying her heart to him.
Jon sat there with her in his arms as his heart was breaking now. “No Baby you didn’t. It’s just I told you I wasn’t thinking I was looking at the road and got mesmerized by it I guess and decided I wanted to see more of it but I didn’t really want to jump I don’t think. I don’t know anymore.” He told her confused now.
Finally sitting up and trying to calm herself now. “Ok well let’s just get home and we’ll talk more when we’re there. But this isn’t over Jon, because we could have gotten into an accident and Jimmy could have lost both parents.” She scolded him. She really wasn’t happy but also wasn’t going to push him right there either. All she wanted to was get home and see her son.  
          

Friday, June 7, 2019

Chapter Five




Earlier

A few days went by and Jon did what he was supposed to do to appease Ellie and the doctor. But the next step was he had to tell his family what was going on and he really didn’t want to do that. But he didn’t have a choice seeing his mother wasn’t letting up on asking questions. So Ellie set up a dinner so they could address what was going on. As Ellie was setting the dining room table Jon had come downstairs and thankfully was dress appropriately for receiving company. When he saw the number of place settings he started to count and was a little confused so he asked her who the extra setting was for.
“El why are you setting eight place settings? I mean there are three for us and four for my side so who is the extra one for?” he asked confused.
Smiling, “Surprised guest that’s who.” She told him as she finished up. Walking over to him and wrapping her arms around him she asked him, “Are you ready for this?”
“No but I know it has to be done otherwise my mother won’t stop bothering me or us for that matter now will she.” He said squeezing her back.
“Well we both know she won’t. She knows something is up and she won’t stop until she finds out what it is. And I can’t keep holding her at bay Jon. Believe me this will be better in the long run.” She told him when they heard the doorbell ring. “Oh well one of our guess has arrived. You want to get that?” she asked him smiling.
“Do I have to I’m really not in the mood.” Jon groaned miserably.
Just then Jimmy came running to the front the house. “I heard the doorbell is Nonni and Pop Pop here?” he asked with excitement.
“Well if Daddy answers the door we’ll find out?” Ellie told him as she looked at her husband trying to push him. Jon got the message and finally went to the door and opened it.
When he did he got the surprise of his life. “Hey Kidd how you doing. Bout time you answered.” Richie said as he stepped into the foyer.
“Uncle Richie!” Jimmy exclaimed as he jumped into his arms.
“Hey kiddo how have you been!” Richie asked him as he threw him in the air.
Jon looked at Ellie and gave her a death stare knowing exactly why Richie was there. Ellie just ignored him and went to welcome him.
“Hey Darling how have you been?” Richie asked her wrapping her up in his big arms.
“I’ve been better Rich, and you?” she asked.
“Me? Couldn’t be better.” He told her as he gave her a kiss on the cheek. Finally letting her go he turned to Jon. “Boy Kidd you look like sh…um you know not good.” He caught himself as Ellie stood there and gave him a smirk.
“Oh gee whiz thanks a bunch King I feel so much better with your compliment.” Jon said to him snarky,
“JON! Behave Richie is company.” Ellie tried to reprimand him but to no avail.
“Please when the hell has Richie been company.” Jon shot back.
“It’s ok Ellie, have you been like this since you’ve gotten home? Because if you have you and I are going to have a long talk.” Richie said to him up close.
“Ewe I’m so scare Sambora.” Jon told him as he turned and walked out of the foyer and into his den.
Ellie and Richie just looked at each other as Jimmy just stood there.
“Jimmy why don’t you go down to your playroom and I’ll send Uncle Matty and Uncle Tony down to say hi to you ok?” she told him. Jimmy just shook his head and went as Richie put his bags aside.
“Ellie I’m so sorry, has he been like this to you guys since he has been home? Look I’ll have a talk him.” Richie told her solemnly.
“You can try but it will take some time getting thru to him. And now he’s pissed at me all over again for bringing you here.” Ellie said sadly.
“Well we’ll just see about that. I’ll go talk to him and see if I can knock some sense into him.” Richie told her smiling.
But before she could say anything the doorbell rang again. Rolling her eyes she answered it and it was her in-laws. Making nice she greeted them when Carol saw Richie standing at the staircase.
“Richard what are you doing here?” she asked at really no one.
“Um Ellie?” Richie said to her looking for help.
Taking her cue, “He’s here because I asked him here. It will be all explained after dinner I promise but why don’t you go see Jon he’s in the den while I get everything finished. Oh Matt and Tony Jimmy would love to see you guys he’s down in the playroom.” she told them as she ran to the kitchen to get out of the gun fire.
Richie went to join them to see Jon as he was just thrilled (not) as everyone joined him. His mother grabbed him and was thrilled he was out of the bedroom.
“Jon let me look at you. My goodness you look wonderful Honey and your dressed for a change I was worried you would be in sweats.” Carol was raving over Jon as he was very uncomfortable so he moved out of her way but that didn’t stop her. Looking up at his hair she started to pick at it but it just ticked him off more and he was about to blow. “Now see you really let you’re your hair go see it’s getting too long and messy, John you need to cut and style…” but Jon was having none of her touchy-feely crap. “Will you…” she trailed off as Jon yelled out.
“Mom knock it off will you!” he yelled at her and walked towards the windows.
“What? What did I do?” she wanted to know seriously.
Trying not to laugh Richie got up and walked over to him while Carol was still buzzing about as John Sr. was trying to calm her down. Meanwhile Ellie had heard the commotion and ran into the den to see what was going on.
“Hey Kidd you ok?” Richie ask Jon as he was really concerned for the way he reacted and now understood what Ellie was talking about. Jon just looked at him with not only sadness in his eyes but regret when Ellie came in.
“What’s going on? What happened?” she asked as she was a little out of breath and concerned that maybe Jon might have snapped at someone. Ok maybe his mother.
Turning and looking at Ellie, Carol went off in her usual way. “Well Jon just went off on me. I thought you said he was going to be fine when he saw the doctor Ellie?” she demanded to know.
“Um I said…I hoped he would…um be getting better when…um we saw the doctor Carol.” She kind of was stuttering at this when Jon piped up.
“Mar leave her alone. This has nothing to do with her or anyone else in this room ok?” Jon snapped.
“Well then why are you looking like death warmed over and acting like a bully.” His mother bellowed.
“Ellie can you please explain to us what is going on with our son.” John Sr. asked his daughter-in-law.
She walked over to Jon and took his hand as Richie went to sit down. They stood by each other as she told them what was going on and how Jon got the steroid shots and that’s why he has been hiding away thinking he could handle this himself until Ellie put her foot down. She told them what the doctor said and what he is going to go thru and why Richie was there as Carol huff and puffed at that but John told her to be quiet. Ellie left the worse for last. She explained that he was having voice problems due to bleeding and Carol nearly passed out. That could have been due to either and she was truly concerned for her son or her cash cow could be coming to an end.
“Why? Why didn’t you tell your Father and me this sooner Jon. We could have gotten you help sooner Dear. And Ellie why didn’t you tell us! You are with him constantly! Why didn’t you see that there was something wrong with him!” Carol exclaimed.
Whispering to Jon, “Well there goes our truce.” Ellie snickered.
“Carol stop! We have been with him just as much as Ellie and we didn’t see anything wrong either.” John Sr. told her just as shocked as she was.
“Really John? She is with him twenty-hours of the day and she couldn’t see that there was something drastically wrong with her husband!” she bellowed again.
Ellie had enough. “Yes Carol I saw that there was something wrong and I mentioned it to you if I remember several times. But Jon didn’t want anybody to bother him or he would have taken it out on me and probably in front of Jimmy which I really didn’t need him seeing. I knew Jon would eventually come to me when he was ready. But when he left the house one day I went upset to snoop and I saw blood on his pillow so that’s when I thought I better get things in motion. That’s when I realized he was in trouble. Is that good for you? Is that what you were looking for that I got off my ass and started to help YOUR SON?” she shot back at her mother-in-law as Jon stood next to her proud as could be that she stood up for herself. Again Richie was sitting also proud of her and again wanted to laugh as she put Mama B. in her place. But he also knew that this wasn’t over.
Carol stood there regrouping when Jon spoke up. “Look I’m sorry that I hurt you Mom, Dad. I really didn’t mean too, but I was ashamed that I let Doc and them give me the steroids for so long. That I was talked into letting them talk me into stretching out the damn tour for so long. Then I come home and treated Ellie, Jimmy and basically everyone like crap. Feeling like crap sucks and I can’t write I can’t seem to do anything but sleep. I’m just constantly exhausted. So Please Mom don’t blame Ellie for any of this. If it wasn’t for her getting my ass moving I’d still be up there, and to tell you the truth I’d rather be there right now.” He told everyone frankly.
Just then the boys came up from the playroom, “Hey what’s going on?” Tony asked concerned.
Ellie looked at them and told them that everything was fine and to head into the dining room for dinner. They took Jimmy and headed in as she told everyone else that she would get the food so they could eat. Richie spoke up and told her that he would help as the others went in. It was a very quiet dinner.
Once dinner was over and cleaned up which Richie helped with also because Jon just disappear back upstairs and wasn’t a surprise to Ellie at all. The others were with Jimmy in the den.
Back in the kitchen they were putting the dishes in the dishwasher, “So are you ok?” Richie wanted to know.
Looking at him and sighing, “Yeah just peachy.” She told him as she put another dish in.
“You know what I mean. Mama B. really laid into you in there.” He said grimacing.
“Well like I told Jon the truce is over. The funny thing is she is never at fault. She was here when he came downstairs and would yell at her when she asked invasive questions to him and then he would snap at her. Why has that just flown out of her head.” She wanted to know.   
“Because she is one of THOSE mothers that’s why. He is her golden child. Do no wrong. No matter you will never be right for him you do know that right?” he asked her smiling.
“Yeah yeah she’s a piece of work all right. Too bad everyone can’t be like either my parents or yours.” She told him smiling back at him.
“Wouldn’t that be nice.” He chuckled. “What’s the matter?” he asked looking confused.
“I just really think this is my punishment that’s all.” She said sadly.
“What? Why do you say that?” he asked really confused now.
“Oh I don’t know it’s just the Catholic in me I guess.” She said kicking the floor.
“Ok now you’re going to have to explain that one to me?” he said looking confused.
“Well I was bad, I got pregnant out of wedlock the biggest sin…Don’t look at me like that I don’t believe in that crap either but come on life’s kinda crapped on me for a while until Jon came back into my life and then now he’s sick and his mother is Godzilla.” She said sighing.
“Oh come on it hasn’t been that bad you’re still standing. And Jon he has a Golden Horseshoe up his ass.” Richie said chuckling.
“Richie! What the hell do you mean by that?” Ellie asked trying not to giggle.
“Well let’s see he usually gets what he wants. He got his band, number one single then a hit album, oh and let’s not forget girls throwing themselves at him. (Ellie rolling her eyes) Then he finds the love of his life with his child no less. And he marries her and gets the best in-laws in the world because they forgive him as his girl for not being there in the beginning. Yeah horseshoe.” He smiled a mile wide.
“You are so lucky that he’s not here right now because the mood he’s in right now he’d kill both of us.” She told him smiling back.
Finally they went to see how the others were. Ellie could see Jimmy was getting tired and Richie offered to put him to bed. Carol said that she would do it but Ellie told her that was alright he needs to get use to Richie helping out. She wasn’t happy with that at all but John Sr. told her that he agreed with her and that they needed to get going anyway. He gave his daughter-law a kiss on the cheek and whispered to her, “Don’t worry I’ll talk to her when she calms down Sweetheart.”
“Thanks.” She replied to him.
Finally they all left so she went upstairs to see if Jon was ok. When she reached their bedroom she carefully opened the door as to not wake him in case he was asleep. But he was up with his guitar just strumming it.
“Hey whatcha doing?” she asked him as she sat on the bed with him.
Sighing, “Just goofing around, but with everyone here and Mom’s outburst just can’t seem to get anything down.” He told her a little too calmly.
“I can understand that. Rich put Jimmy down for me but your Mother had a fit over it.” She told him as she played with the blanket in front of her.
“Yeah? Why did you have Rich do it?” he asked her calmly as he just paid attention to what he was doing.
“Because I want Jimmy to get use to Rich helping out around here. Like putting him to bed or making him breakfast and taking him to school especially if I have to take you to the doctor sometimes or say if I don’t feel good you know?” she said looking at him and hoping he would understand why she asked Richie here.
“So is that the real reason you asked Rich to stay here or to babysit me?” he wanted to know.
“Yeah I was wondering when you were going to ask me that. Look he’s worried about you too. So I’m killing two birds here is that so wrong Jon?” she asked him as loving as she could.
Putting down his guitar and looking dead at her he said to her, “Yeah it is. Babe look I’m fine ok and with the Doc overseeing my progress and you making sure I’m doing what I’m supposed to, we don’t need anyone else here do you understand that?” he asked her simply.
She thought about that for a moment and then took his hand in hers. “Jon I thought about this and I spoke to the doctor about bringing Richie in and he agreed when I told him that he was your best friend and confident on the road. I just needed to get him here first before I told you because I really thought you would be happier to see him.” She told him hoping he wouldn’t explode.
Getting up he started to pace. “Ellie when we finished the tour, we were sick and tired of each other. We were fighting and really couldn’t stand to look at each other. So before things got really out of hand we all agreed just to go our separate ways and take a breather. Which meant that we needed to take a break from each other do you understand that?” he asked her trying really hard not to get annoyed with her.
“Yes Jon I get that.” She huffed at him.
“Then why didn’t you discuss this with me before you asked Richie here?” he asked her with his arms crossed and trying not to give her the stink eye which he was.
Smiling, “Just for the reason you are saying Babe. Look if I told you that I was calling Richie about coming here to help you, you would have pulled a temper tantrum the size of an elephant. I really think Richie will be a big help around here and I need that right now plus I so don’t need your Mom butting in where she really doesn’t belong.” She told him straight out.
Pacing again and rubbing his face he turned around finally to face her. “I thought you and my Mom were finally getting along?”
“Well we are sort of. She still tries to tell me how to run my household which pisses me off or how to get you out of the fucking bedroom but yeah at least we can be in the same room now. Look I don’t mind her here or helping out with Jimmy ok? She is his Grandmother and I’m really, really trying here Jon. But I do draw the line at some places.  I really think Richie will help with that. Look if you don’t want to see him fine I’ll tell him to stay away from you ok? But that will hurt his feelings Jon. Or is there more to the two of you that you don’t want me to know?” she asked him curious.
Jon just stood there looking at her dumb founded. “What the hell does that mean?”
“Jon it’s ok you know. I’ve seen the way the two of you look at each other. You’re more than just best friends…right?” she asked carefully.
Jon again just looked at her now kind of in shock. “We’re just best friends that’s it ok? Nothing more! So leave it alone.  (turning like he was going to the bathroom he stopped then turned back to her) Why did he say something to you?” he asked her a little too harshly.
“No he didn’t say anything to me honest. It’s just what I’ve heard while I was on the road with you guys. I just never had the guts to say anything to you until now that’s all. I’ve’ heard the whispers and seen the way you two look at each other and how you two act with each other on stage Jon. I’m not stupid. Yeah I caught you with other women but I’ve never said anything about you and Richie. It’s ok I get it I really do. You’ve known each other since the beginning of this band. He’s been you’re right hand man since day one, you’re confidante. So things get a little out of control when late nights and alcohol get to you I told you I get it.” She told him as she got up to put her hand on him but he stepped away from her.
“Get what? There’s nothing to get Babe. What your telling me is that I’m gay right?” he said to her shocked.
“What? No I’m not. I’m just saying that things can get out of hand and things happen that’s all and that you have been thru so much on this damn tour you’re blaming yourself for so many things that you’re taking it out not just on yourself but the guys too. Especially Richie because of maybe what happened on these tours. Baby I love you so much I don’t care what the hell happened with you and Richie ok? As long as he can help you thru whatever it is this is I’ll be ok with it.” She told him but he was having none of it.
He looked her in the eye, “I’m going to tell you this once and once only NOTHING HAPPENED GOT IT!” he shouted.
Well Richie was walking by from the kitchen back to his room when he heard the yelling and decided he better go check what was going on and see if Ellie was ok or not. When he got to their room he did hear Jon yelling so he quickly opened the door to see what was going on.
“Hey what the hell are you two yelling about in here? You do know Jimmy is trying to sleep right?” He told them looking at Ellie making sure she was alright.
“What the hell do you want Sambora? Everything is fine here.” Jon loudly tells him as he started to strut over to him.
“Jon stop!” Ellie shouted but it didn’t do any good Jon was pissed.
Richie saw Jon storming over to him so he planted his feet and was ready for him. Just as Jon was about to take a swing at him, Richie was able to grab his arm and pull him into himself and turned him around so he was facing Ellie but had his arm twisted above his head and behind him.  Ellie stood there shocked that Richie was able to do that so quickly but relieved also that things didn’t get out of hand.
“Let go of me!” Jon yelled thru gritted teeth.
“Not til you tell me what the hell is going on in here.” Richie said to him pissed.
Wiggling and trying to get loose, “It’s none of your damn business Rich. Now let me the fuck go!” he yelled trying harder to get free but Richie wasn’t letting go just yet.
“Not til someone tells me what the fuck is going on in here.” He told them. “So settle down will you?” he told Jon as he tighten his hold because Jon wasn’t giving up.
“Oh for crying out loud Jon just knock it off will you? I’m sorry ok? I’m sorry I said anything. Richie just let him go he won’t do anything right JON!” she said straight to his face.
Jon finally calmed down and promised he wouldn’t hit Richie if he let him go. So carefully Richie did and stepped back just in case. Jon straighten up and stretched and looked straight at his wife to make sure she got what he was trying to say to her. Keep your mouth shut. But Richie saw what he did and knowing Jon for so long he also knew that look and what it meant.
“Well is someone going to tell me what the hell was going on or are the three of us having a sleep over in here because I’m not leaving until someone talks.” He told them sarcastically.
Finally looking at his best friend Jon said, “Look Rich everything is fine Ellie and I just had a little spat that’s all we’ll be fine.” He tried to smooth over.
Looking at Ellie and shaking his head Richie said to him, “Ok good then you won’t mind sitting down next to her on the bed then as we all talk?” Richie said to him as Jon just looked annoyed. Before Jon could say anything Richie just pointed to the bed and told him to sit. Reluctantly he sat at the end of the bed while Ellie was at the headboard.
“Well I can see this is going to be good, you two can’t even sit next to each other.” Richie said to them.
They looked at each other and just smirked at the fact that they realized they did that. 

Chapter Thirty-nine

                           Ellie had put Jimmy and his bodyguard on the plane. She still didn’t want him to go but she trusted Jon’s instinc...