“Oh you know I’m here to see Ellie so you might as let me in Kidd.” Richie told an angry Jon.
“You’re not coming in. I told you to stay away from her. What, you thought I was kidding?” Jon said as he stood his ground.
“No I think you’re an ass. But I have every right to see her if I want to.” he told Jon as he towered over him.
“Sambora I swear to God if you try to move me I’m going to knock you down or at least we both get bloody...” he was telling Richie when he was interrupted by his wife who wasn’t happy at the moment.
“What is going on here?” she asked very loudly.
“Ellie! He won’t let me in.” Richie told her almost in a whining voice.
“Tattletale! Plus she knows I don’t want you here or let you in OUR house so leave now.” Jon was getting demanding now.
Ellie was at her wit’s end. “Ok you two that’s it. Jon he is staying and not another word out of you. Richie you know where your room is so go, NOW” she told him pointing to the stairs.
“Yes Ma’am.” he said and grabbed his bags and as he headed for the stairs he turned just enough so Jon could see him and stuck out his tongue. Jon just scrunched up his face as Richie could be heard chuckling up the stairs.
“Jon what’s he laughing about?” Ellie wanted to know.
“Who knows, probably saw himself in the mirror. I’m going to go get a drink.” he told her and off he went to the kitchen. Ellie just stood there shaking her head but smiling just knowing her boys were back together under one roof.
Ellie followed Jon into the kitchen. He had his head in the frig when she walked up to him.
“What are you looking for? Because you have your beer in your hand.” she asked him curiously.
Coming out and standing up he looked at her, “I don’t know. I thought maybe I could hide or something in there." he was being sarcastic.
Looking at her husband she walked over to him and put her arms around him. “Jon it’s going to be alright. He just needs closure like everyone else does. Please don’t deny him of that.” she told him squeezing him hard.
Looking down at her then kissing her on top of her head, “Fine I won’t but he better not hit on you while he’s here or so help me God...” he said as Ellie reached up to kiss him properly. After parting, “Crap if I knew that making love to you wouldn’t kill you I’d take you right here and now.” he told her lovingly.
“Well we can still play you know. That hasn’t set anything off yet. And I love kissing you.” she told him moving her hands around his body.
“First off Baby Please don’t get me going ok? And second we have company remember? Maybe tonight when everyone is getting ready to settle down and tell them you’re tired we can retire and they’ll leave us alone for the rest of the night.” he told her holding her tight.
“Jeepers it’s like we have kids all over again.” she smiled up at him.
“No kidding right? I can remember the times we were busted into when the kids came running into our bedroom at the wrong times. (chuckling) You should have seen the look on your face.” as he started laughing now.
“It wasn’t funny Jon. You forgot to lock the damn door. I don’t mind the girls seeing me naked I had them in the showers with me as you had the boys. But I haven’t had any privacy in the damn bathroom in what fifty or so years and I’m including the dogs too.” she smiled.
He heard what she said that but was off to the time when his first child was small and he finally got to be a Dad finally. “Yeah I guess. I was glad I was able to do something with Jim for the first time since you and your family got a lot of his first firsts.” he said sadly remembering back.
“Jon that wasn’t my or my family’s fault. It was yours remember.” she said a little too loudly and she pushed him away from her because she couldn’t believe that he brought up that old crap again.
Turning around he looked at her and knew she was upset. “Babe I’m sorry I worded that wrong. Plus I know it’s still a sore subject for you. I just meant that I got to do something with Jimmy first that’s all I didn’t mean anything by it I swear. Do I feel bad that you and your family got all of his firsts yeah but I know who’s fault it was don’t think I don’t.” he told her with both hands on her shoulders looking lovingly at her.
“No I’m sorry. I over reacted. I guess I’m still sensitive about that subject that’s all, or the way you just worded it.” she told him as she put head on his chest. “You do know this is still one of my favorite place to be.” she smiled.
“Well I hope so because it’s only reserved for you.” he said as he wrapped her up in his arms tightly.
Walking in on them he stood there smiling as if time had stood still. “Well it looks like you two are right back where I left you. Are you two joined at the hip?” Richie smiled.
Jon went to say something but Ellie cut in. “Well he has been since I was diagnose and the kids call if not every day, which can drive me nuts because nothing changes. Plus Jim works here in town so he visits quite frequently so we have company all the time. Then the guys pop in also so I think I just might put in a revolving door.” she told him as Jon swatted her on her ass.
“Richie you want a soda or something?” Jon asked him.
"Thanks I’ll have a coke if you have it.” he told him.
Jon grabbed one and handed it to him. “So how are you handling all this company?” Richie asked them as he leaned up against the counter.
“Well it’s easy Ellie gets tired real easy so when I see that it’s getting to her I just tell everyone that’s enough and it’s time for her to get some rest. What are they going to say right?” Jon said as he took a swig of his beer.
“That’s true. Well I’m here and if there’s anything I can do just let me know.” he told them.
“Just like old times.” Ellie said as she walked over to him and gave him a hug and a kiss on his cheek. “Now are you all set and have everything you need Richie?”
“Baby Girl I know where everything is so don’t worry about me. I’m here to see you and you are not to wait on me got that. If you need anything and if Jon isn’t around and I am I can do it. I want to do it. Please both of you let me.” he told them both. Jon just rolled his eyes at that.
Ellie looked at her husband and gave him what she would call her stink eye. Jon wanted to laugh when she would do that but when she did she meant it then all hell would break out and you really didn’t want to be on the other side of it. She did have one hell of a temper that rivaled his and it could sound like World War III sometimes which was scary. But he always just got a kick out of her version of the stink eye.
Just then they heard the door open and shut and footsteps coming there way. Jim walked into the kitchen and was surprised to see Richie in there with his parents. "Uncle Richie hey how are you?" he asked as he walked over to give him a hug.
"Hey Jim I'm doing good. How about yourself?" he asked as he had Jon's dead shot eyes on him.
"Doing good too. Are you here long? Because we can talk later. I need to talk to Mom if it's ok?" he turned to ask her.
"Sure Sweetheart, why don't we go into the den and we can talk in there." she said as they started to leave but she saw Jon behind Richie shaking his head no as to not leave him alone with him. Ellie had a little wicked grin as she left with Jim and Jon would have to figure out how to get her back later.
Turning back to face Jon, "So Kidd how is she really?" he wanted to know.
Taking another sip from his beer, "She's hanging in there. We have another doctor's appointment the week after next. She just loves those. We're there for a couple of hours and it takes a lot out of her." Jon explained to Richie sadly.
"I'm really sorry that your both going thru this. Especially in our golden years you know. This is supposed to be our time to enjoy it with our loved ones and it doesn't fail does it to mess it up." Richie also said sadly.
"You know she was telling me that her parents were looking forward to their time together and they only had like eight to ten maybe or if that. Then Dad got Alzheimer's and that's when everything started to go downhill for them. Mom gradually went downhill with her hips and she got hit with about everything after Dad died. Both her parents had heart attacks when they were young. Mom had a massive one and had to have a double bypass at Eighty years old. Ellie doesn't want that. Mom did have a DNR but it disappeared and boy I never seen Ellie so pissed before. "Jon just went off.
"I bet I remember her temper. So I take it her siblings hid it on her." Richie asked him.
"Yeah that's what we think. Just don't ask her I don't want her to get all wound up over it because she will. She doesn't talk to any of them anymore." Jon told him finishing his beer.
"Really? That's a shame because she was really close to them." he remembered.
"Yeah well shit happens you should know that." Jon said to him as he glared at him.
"I thought we put that behind us a while ago Kidd. How many times do I have to apologize for it?" he asked an angry Jon. "Or are you mad for another reason." he asked him.
"You know damn well why I'm mad at you. You kissed my wife!" he angrily said to him.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Jimmy helped his Mom into the den. "James! I can walk by myself." she told him sternly.
"Well I just want to make sure you don't trip or anything. Are you sure you don't need a cane or a walker?" he asked lovingly.
"Oh God now I know how Mar felt. No I don't need those yet but I'll let you all know when I do." she said as she sat down.
"Well we worry about you so sue me." he told her smiling.
"I get it I really do. Especially you. We've been together thru thick and thin. I had to tell my parents that I was pregnant with you and I thought I was going to be grounded for the rest of my life." they both started to laugh.
"You really did believe that didn't you Mom?" he said still laughing.
"Oh yeah because I was the first one that went thru it. They practice on me. Your Uncle Chickie well they had already been thru it but still he was the golden child and you see Grandpa's hair stand straight up just Wow!" she told him giggling.
"Didn't he only know Auntie Chris for like a week or a little more?" he asked.
"Yeah I think so. At least I knew your Dad for like a year plus and we were dating. But I still wanted to run and hide that was my first instinct before I actually told them. I mean I was scared to death to tell my Catholic parents that I was Prego. Then the way it all went down jeepers. That didn't help any but when they saw you well they didn't care. They fell in love with you so I was good." she smiled at him and giggled.
"So you're telling me you lucked out." he asked her.
"Yeah more or less. Plus I was still not feeling well with my headaches and I still get them today. I don't think they'll ever find anything to really stop them. Oh by the way seeing Richie is here and before your Father comes in, did you call him to come out?" she asked him curious.
"No that's what I came over for Mom. I couldn't find his phone number. Well that's not true I haven't had time too. The kids have been sick and well Julie is pulling out her hair and she doesn't want to bring any of them here and get you sick. But they all want to see their Grandma." he told her sitting back and looking tired. "Mom I don't know how you or Grandma did it with so many kids." he told shaking his head.
"Well you have to credit Grandma for that because she did it alone. I mean I know she had me for a while before your Father came and got us, but yeah she was one hell of a Mom. But I told you guys all the funny stories and that's how I squashed you guys before any of you got to ahead of me. But yeah I did have help thank goodness otherwise I would have lost it a long time ago." she started to laugh.
"Well it didn't help with our 'Uncle's' helping us out to get into mischief." Jim started laughing.
"Oh no that didn't help at all." Ellie chided him when she heard the footsteps of one of the culprits.
"What's all the laughing about?" Richie asked as he and Jon walked in and Jon had her tea in hand.
"Thank You Honey." she said as she gave a kiss to him.
"Oh we don't want to see that. There’s a child in the room." Richie said squinting his face.
"Ok Uncle Richie. How long has it been?" Jim laughed.
"Oh I'm not talking about you I'm talking about me. That could stunt my growth." he said winking.
Everyone just let out a moan as Richie just laughed louder.
"Well I'm glad your sense of humor hasn't changed Rich. It still stinks." Jon told him still swigging his beer.
"JON! If you can't be nice then don't say anything." Ellie reprimanded him.
"It's ok Ellie he's still pissed at me because I kissed you how many years ago? Oh yeah and you forgave me but he still hasn't." Richie told them as Jon was sitting in his chair shooting daggers at him.
Jimmy got up from his chair, "I think I need to call home and see how everything is so I'll be in the kitchen if you want me." Jimmy said as he started leaving.
"Jimmy you don't have to leave or go to the kitchen." Ellie told him.
"Yeah I do there's food and drinks in there so I'm going to need it when I do call her Mom, believe me. And you all remember Mom can't get upset so if I hear yelling and especially Mom's voice I'll be in here so fast it will make all your heads spin and it won't be good." he told them as he bent down and kissed his Mom and winked at her. Standing up he pointed to his Father and then his Uncle and was pointing at both of them with a stern look on his face to show them he means every word of what he just said as he was walking backwards towards the kitchen.
"Turn around you're going to walk into something." Ellie said loudly know that he meant well. "Now see what you started Jon." she shot at him who quickly turned to looked at her all innocent.
“Now that he’s gone you want to talk about it Kidd? I mean it happened so long ago that you’re still hanging on to it or you still pissed at me too about leaving the group?” Richie asked him curious.
“Oh screw you Richie.” Jon said as he started to get up to leave.
“No you don’t. Sit your ass back down in that chair right now. You started this so you’re going to end it. Now yes Richie kissed me. You all had reconciled after the Rock and Rock Hall of Fame which was wonderful. Years had gone by everything was going good and Richie was going thru hell with Heather, so he came over here to talk to me about it. Things were getting pretty deep and before I knew things started to turn and he wasn’t talking about Heather anymore. I realized it was me he was talking about. So we got into a conversation about how we felt about each other.” she was explaining to both men. Richie sat there looking sad but lovingly at her know he hurt her and his best friend. Jon just sat there showing no emotion only because he learned a long time ago not to show your hand to early even when it came to family.
“I still remember that day like it was yesterday. I poured my damn heart out to you Ellie. I told you that I had been in love with you the moment I met you. Unfortunately you didn’t return my feeling you were in love with Jon and you would never do anything to hurt him or ruin your marriage. But I felt I had to tell you, I had to get this off my damn chest even thou you said you knew. I just didn’t understand how I got myself into this mess.” he told them both as he ran his hands thru his hair.
Jon just sat there still just listening, biting his lower lip. He understood how anyone could fall for Ellie. She is thoughtful, loving, sensitive, attractive and very understanding.
“Rich believe me I was very flattered. But You and Jon were best friends. Like brothers. And as my, as I love the two of you, you two need to talk and realize that you two still have feelings for each other. Because when you were both on stage everyone saw not just the magic you two had but the love between you. It may have not been like in the early days but damn it sure as hell was on stage. And that was ok with me. It kinda turn me on. Jon sometimes you can kinda be really lame and you never saw those signs when we went backstage and you thought you had enlist the backstage stuff.” Ellie said smiling with teeth gritted.
Well Richie was trying real hard now not to laugh.
“HEY! You loved it when I brought you backstage to my dressing room when I got off stage. In fact you were all over...me. You know that’s not funny Rich. You know I could have brought any girl back with me you know.” now Jon was bragging.
“I know. Let’s see there was this time (Richie shaking his head wildly) when I called you and this bimbo answered the phone what was it around two in the morning. Or this time you were in the shower...” as she was trying to continue Jon raised up his hands.
“Ok I surrender. I’m sorry. I paid for those by the way and harshly I believe. Can we just drop it Please.” he asked peeved.
“Fine then don’t sit there and be a Jackass. Now Richie is going to be here for a while and I want you to try and get along with him. Now I’m going to the kitchen and see how my son is and how my grandchildren are. I don’t want to hear any yelling just talking and when I come back this room better not be empty understand Jon!” she empathized to her husband.
“Why am I getting most of your crap?” Jon wanted to know.
“Because Dear you're being a jerk. Now give me a kiss.” Ellie told him. Jon sat up while Ellie bent down and they kissed as a little ping went thru Richie. “Ok boys now play nice.” she told them and went to the kitchen.
“Well she told you.” Richie told Jon sarcastically.
“Oh shut the fuck up.” Jon told him as he also gave him the finger.
“Oh that hurts.” Richie grabs his chest and falls flat on his back on the chair.
“Can you just for once stop clowning around.” Jon went to sip his beer but there was nothing left. “Damn it”
“Empty huh? Well maybe we can talk without you feeling good and saying something you regret.” he reminded him.
“Well that’s rich Rich.” as Jon rolled his eyes.
“What the hell is your problem Jon. You know you got loaded a few times as I remember and it got you in trouble more than once. So don’t go and throw it at me. We got you out of a few indiscretions so Ellie wouldn’t know. Of course I didn’t think you were going to be that stupid and tell her about that one time with that red headed broad when you were out in L.A.” Richie smirked.
Looking at Richie, “Yeah I remember that. She was a piece of work. She was good at blackmail. I had to tell Ellie, there was no way I was going to let that bitch tell her and have the satisfaction of rubbing it in to both of us.” he said as he sat up and looked at Richie.
“To be truthful I don’t know how you held on to her. I keep saying that you always had a horseshoe up your ass. Ellie put up with a lot from you. (chuckling) She put up with a lot from all of us.” Richie kept on chuckling.
“She sure has. She hated the term Band of Brothers because we used it for the band where she said the Service men used it for themselves. God when she got going on her high horse look out. (looking at Richie now straight in the eye) Why did you have to kiss her Rich?” Jon wanted to know.
Sighing, “Because I had to know Jon. I had to know if my feelings were real and kissing her would tell me if they were or not.” he told him as he played with his hands.
“Well were they? Were you really in love with her and are you still.” Jon wanted to know.
