Jon was pacing back and forth driving a wedge into the carpet. He kept looking at his watch trying to figure where Richie was. How long ago was it that he called him? God he wanted to tear out his hair and he was really, really nausea. Where was Richie he kept thinking. He went over to the phone to try calling him again to see if he left, when there was a knock at the door. He slammed down the phone and ran to the door and prayed. When he opened it there he stood.
“Hi what's...” but before he could finish his sentence Jon threw him in the room.
“What the Hell took you so long!” Jon shouted.
“Took me so long? I raced here as it was. I’m surprised I didn’t get a ticket. What the hell is up with you Kidd. What happened?” He asked all agitated.
“Ellie is going to kill me Rich! She’s going to kill me!” he told him when another wave of nausea hit him and he had to run to the bathroom to vomit.
Standing there dumb founded, “Why is she going to kill you? (thinking a second) Ohhh you didn’t. How drunk were you?” he wanted to know. Rich walked over to the bathroom to check on him and he saw Jon kneeling over the toilet. “Hey are you going to be ok?” he wanted to know. Jon just waved him away at the moment so he could get what he needed done.
“Yeah, yeah.” Richie went to the phone. “Yes Hi this is John Carpenter’s room. I’d like a cafĂ© of coffee and juice sent up and if you have any eggs scrambled, bacon, hash browns and toast with the makings and two plates please and oh how about a half dozen of assorted donuts. Oh and if you have any aspirin that would be great to thanks.” Richie had called down to room service.
“You really think I’m going to be able to eat?” he asked him coming out of the bathroom.
“Well if you can’t I will. So you want to tell me what the hell is going on?” he asked him again.
Sitting on the bed and looking like hell, “I woke up this morning with some broad in my bed Rich. I don’t know how the hell she got there. I really don’t.” he told him as his head was pounding a mile a minute.
“Yeah I kinda figured. How the hell did you get yourself into this mess?” Rich wanted to know.
“I don’t know. I didn’t think I was drinking that much. I went to Estevez party with him. He was introducing me to a lot of people and yeah there were a lot of girls there but I wasn’t you know flirting with any of them. I was there to make contacts and to get to know the cast. But before I knew it the lights went out and I woke up here in bed. Richie I swear I don’t remember anything but she says she has pictures of us doing it in different positions. I don’t know how because I was out of it. I don’t remember taking those pictures. Oh God what am I going to tell...” Jon jumped up again and ran to the bathroom.
“Crap your skinny enough but this.” Richie went into the frig to get some water because he knew he was going to need to replenish his fluids. Just then there was a knock on the door. Richie opened it and it was room service with his order. He brought it in and Rich gave him a tip “Thank you. Hey room service is here. You need to get something in your stomach. Plus I had them bring up some aspirin if you didn’t have any.” he let Jon know as he started to set everything up so they could eat. He poured each of them coffee so when Jon came out he could start to pour it down his throat. A few minutes later Jon came out still looking awful.
“Kidd come sit down and at least have a cup of coffee and some aspirin will you. Here try some bacon nice and greasy that should help a little.” Rich told him as Jon sat down.
“I just want to die.” he said as he took the aspirin with his coffee.
“No you don’t. We’ll figure out who this bitch is and what she wants. But damn we have got to find out who and how the hell they drugged you. Was Emilio involved in this or what and if he knows who this bitch is. You're going to have to ask him that.” Richie told him.
"I don't think so. I mean he wasn't acting like he wanted to hurt me or get anything from me. What would he have to gain?" Jon asked particularly to no one just shooting it out there.
"Well...if it wasn't any of them then there's someone else trying to blackmail you. Just too bad you can't remember the fun stuff." Richie chuckled.
"RICHIE! This isn't funny. Plus I'm glad I can't remember doing anything with that bitch.” he said loudly to him.
"Well I'm not. If you did we could have solved this a lot faster Kidd. If we could just get our hands on that tape and make sure they didn't make any copies then they don't have anything to hang over your head." Richie explained to him.
"That's true. Richie we need to come up with something before she calls back. Make up some kind of plan. What do you think?" he asked him as he was getting recharged now.
Richie was thinking this over when the phone rang. They both just turned their heads and froze. After a few seconds Jon looked at Richie.
"What if it's her?" he asked all nervous now.
"Well you won't know until you answer it." he shot back.
So Jon went to the phone and picked up the receiver. "Hello?
"Hi Honey how are you?" Ellie asked him.
Jon let out a big sigh, "Hey Baby I'm fine, how are you?' he asked her back.
"Miss you so much. Is there something wrong? You sound stress, tired." she told him.
"You can tell?" he wanted to know.
"Of course I can. I've been with now for fifteen years and after your little period of down time I know you pretty good." she told him and was being very diplomatic on his grey period.
"Little period of down time? You do know how much I love you right?" he told her.
Laughing, "Yeah I do. I Love you too and so does Jimmy. He can't wait to see you. I told him it will be a while and he gets it. He loves it that his Dad is doing his own album. But he can't wait till you do come home. He's at that age where I think he needs you.” she told him.
"What do you mean:" he asked.
"I think he likes this girl and he needs some advice. Do you think you could call him in the next day or two Sweetheart? I don't think he wants to talk to me." she told him giggling.
Surprised, "Yeah sure I'm just letting this sink in. Wow. Our boy likes a girl. When the hell did he grow up?" he asked her shocked.
"I know right. Just don't tell him any of the stories about you at that age Got it!!" she stressed to him.
"Got it Babe." he smiled as he chuckled into the phone.
"I also called to ask you if you still want me to come out to see you. I think I can get Richie's Mom to watch Jimmy for me. So just let me know when would be a good time and I can make the arrangements." she told her husband.
Jon just stared at the phone. "Um could you just give me a sec Babe. Thanks." Jon looked at Richie "Rich she wants to come out. What do we do?" he asked him frantic.
"Well she can't came out now. Not with Cheri and everything. Tell her she can't!" Richie told Jon.
"Oh that helps. (back on the phone) Hi Babe you know I don't have any time for the next few weeks. They have me booked solid, and it looks like they maybe doing for the month as they penciled some extras in the following weeks too. I'm really sorry but it will just bore the hell out of you to be stuck either in the hotel room or even the studio doing nothing and you can only shop so much right?" he laughed a very nervous laugh.
"So before you left you were pissed at me when I said I couldn't go because I had a legit reason and now you have no time for me. This is so classic. (Ellie's hormones were now kicking in) You are such a SOB you know that! I rearranged mine and Jimmy's schedule for you and what do you do? Fuck us over. Classic move Bongiovi." she told him angrily.
"Baby I didn't know they were going to do this I swear. I'm sorry. Yes I was a jerk before I left I was just excited to do this and I just wanted to share this with you. I just didn't realize that I wouldn't see you when I got here. Please don't be mad at me." he tried to smooth things over.
Ellie started to cry, "Oh Baby don't cry I didn't mean for you to cry." Jon told her as he looked over at Richie as Richie put up both hands and basically told him he was surrendering. Jon didn't know what to say. He knew he was a jerk when he left and now here he is telling her that he doesn't want her.
"No, it's not you it's me. You know I'm just a little more sensitive right now that's all. You're busy I get it, and you don't want your fat wife there. Well ok I'll talk to you later Bye." she told him and hung up.
Now Jon slowly hung up the phone and slowly walked back to the table and sat down.
Richie looked at him and asked, "Oh God now what?" he asked him.
"Now she's fat. She thinks I don't want her because she's fat." He told Richie. "What the hell do I say to her about that? I mean she's not fat!" he explained.
"Well you don't have to tell me. You have to tell your deluded fat wife that! Good luck with that!" Richie told him smirking. “Oh you're funny. You think I'm calling her back to tell her that she isn't fat? Do you think I have a death wish? No I'll wait till tonight and tell her I love her after my gift of the roses arrive later. Hopefully that will smooth things over a little bit." Jon hoped.
"Your not going to send her candy with that are you?" Richie squinted.
"Again I don't have a death wish. She said Fat. So no candy. I'll figure out something. Ellie is a little bit easier than this bitch will be." Jon told Richie as he sipped his coffee. "Ewe it's cold." he nearly spit it out.
"Oh for crying out loud you left it there for so long it went cold. Just dump it out and get yourself another cup. Then we'll figure out what we can do." Richie told him as he wanted to cut out his heart.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ellie hung up the phone and nearly hit herself for crying like that. She almost gave away the fact that she was pregnant. She wants to tell him face to face. Before she forgot she called the doctor's office to make her appointment for next month to see where they are at. Next she checked her schedule to see when she really could go out to L.A. and see him. Maybe she wouldn't tell him and make a surprise visit just to see what he is up too. If he gets mad she can always spring the 'Honey I'm Pregnant' news on him so hopefully he can't get to mad at her. Right?
Then it dawn on her. Is he coming home for Thanksgiving? Christmas? So now she was going to have to call him back again anyway to ask him that. Because this year she had promised her parents that they were going to be spending it with them this year. Oh this should be fun. Joe was seeing someone new and she had a little girl. Our sister was not happy. I don’t know why same thing that happened to me happened to her. Get over it.
All of a sudden she had to run into the bathroom. This was going to be another hard pregnancy. It won’t take long for her parents to figure out that she is pregnant. She decided that she would go lie down for a while seeing that nobody was home with her and she could rest. She might as well do it now before the baby comes. She knew she wouldn’t have her support system this time around.
The afternoon came quick and Maria was in the kitchen cleaning and figuring what she was going to make for dinner. Ellie walked in the kitchen.
“Hey Maria how are you.” she asked her.
“I’m doing fine and yourself?” she replied back. “Can you do me a favor and just make something for Jimmy tonight I’m not feeling very well.” she explained.
“Miss Ellie you weren’t feeling very well the past couple of nights? Are you alright?” she asked concerned.
“I’m fine. It’s just my migraine's and I’m having some nausea with them. If you could make me some soup that I like with my tea that would be very nice of you.” Ellie asked her.
“Of course I can. Now you just rest and I’ll let you know when everything is ready but for now would you like some tea?” she asked Ellie.
“That would be very nice of you. Oh and if Jimmy comes running thru here just tell him to slow down and I’ll be in the den. Thanks Maria.” and off she went. She now went to check her schedule to see if she could go out to see Jon before the end of October. The only dates she had free were the first weeks in November because she had school dates for Jimmy. So it looked like she could go out for about four days her In-Laws would be back and try to take over the holidays and have them be home for them. She needed to be home to make sure that didn’t happen. One time when the guys were on tour and she was with them Carol had called her parents and somehow talked her Mom into getting them to their house instead of her parents. Well Ellie was Livid and well Jon went to his parents as Ellie and Jimmy went to hers. Carol wasn’t a happy camper seeing that she wanted her grandson also with his Father. Jon just kept bashing his head against anything he could that year. And Carol found out don’t mess with Ellie.
Anyway she figured that she would call him later to see what he thinks and if she would still get the run around even with the holiday. This should also be interesting she thought.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Richie made Jon call Emilio later that day. They had to know if he knew anything about the girls that were there last night.
“Hello?” Emilio answered.
“Hey Emilio it’s Jon.” he told him looking at Richie who was almost bouncing.
“Yeah Jon, I thought you would be sleeping all day. You seemed pretty much out of it last night. And you told me you guys don’t party like that.” Emilio chuckled.
“Ha ha yeah. Well I haven’t in a real long time actually. But I do have a question for you. Where did you get those girls that were there last night?” he really hoped he would tell him.
“Why? Did someone stiff you? Take your wallet or something?” he asked Jon.
“What? No, no I just wanted to know about one of the girls that’s all. You know, I’m stuck here for a while and she and I got along but um we were separated before I could get her number. So I was hoping that either you or someone you know could help me find her.” he asked him as Richie was shaking his head yes as he listened in.
“Well I wasn’t in charge of getting them for the party. That was my brother Charlie. I could give you Charlie’s number. I’m sure he could help you.“ he told Jon.
Jon looked at Richie as they both wanted to scream hooray. But didn’t. But they did fist pump each other.
“That would be great Emilio.” Jon told him trying to tame down his excitement. Jon wrote down Charlie’s number and thanked him again and hung up. Looking at Richie, “Well this should help some right?” Jon said to Richie happily.
“Oh yeah, this is going to help a lot if Charlie tells us, if this Cheri was on the list and if that is her name.” Richie listed out for him.
“Well it’s all we got right now Richie.” Jon told him not wanting to give up.
“I know and we won’t. It’s just what I have heard about Sheen and we may have a problem. So just make sure you mention it to Emilio ok. Because it looks like that if it wasn’t for him he wouldn't have been in this franchise.” Richie stated.
“I will if we have a problem with him. But I think if I tell him that I want to hook up with her maybe he will give me her number. What do you think?” he asked Richie hoping.
“Well we have a good chance. Just give him a good reason that you want her ok?” Richie stressed.
They finished up their breakfast and Jon felt a little bit better now that they had a plan. Jon got cleaned up as Richie waited for him watching t.v.
“What are you doing?” he wanted to know.
“Well you were taking long enough so I put the t.v. on why?” he asked Jon confused.
“Nothing. Let’s just do this.” he told Richie as he dialed Charlie’s number. Luckily Charlie was home and Jon told him what he needed. He told him that he needed the number of one of the girls that he had hit it off with and that her name was Cheri and that was all that she had given him. If he had any names like that on his list was it possible to give him her number because he really would like to spend some more time with her during his stay. Charlie thought it over for a moment and then told him that he didn’t think it would be a problem and to wait just a moment while he got the list. Turning to Richie “He’s gone to get the list.” Richie gave him a thumbs up. It only took him about a few minutes when Charlie got back to the phone. He read off Cheri’s name as Cheri Blake and her telephone number. But he was very adamant that he was to tell her he did not get her number from him. Jon told him sure and didn’t question why. And hung up.
“Got it. But he was very adamant that I don’t tell her where I got her number. What’s up with that?” Jon wanted to know.
“Could be he knows who she works for maybe. He’s scared and doesn’t want to be on their bad side maybe?” Richie told him.
“You think? Do you think he knows that they extort money from their clients?” Jon threw out there?
“Well he could if he told you not to say anything. You know next time when someone invites you anywhere say no unless all of us go with you and have your back.” Richie scolded him.
“You got that straight.” Jon said as he sat back in his chair.
“So what do you want to do call the cops or private and have them take care of this?” Richie asked him.
“No we have to Rich. I don’t want this getting back to Ellie. If we go to the cops it will go public. If we do private I know some how it will get to her and I can’t hurt her like that. She told me the next time I screw up she’s going to leave me.” he told him.
“Oh yeah wasn’t that over BJ’s?’ Richie said trying not to laugh.
“Yeah go ahead laugh. You were with me though. Remember? So she was just as disgusted with you as she was with me. How the hell did I know that women consider BJ’s as sex. And how did I know Ellie was going to surprise me at the concert.” he told Richie.
“Oh God was she pissed at you! I’ve never seen her so mad at you before. She grabbed that girl by the hair and yanked her off of you. It’s a good thing you moved and moved fast because I really think she was going to cut it off.” Richie laughed hard.
“You do know you were probably next. She did blame you for that.” Jon shot back.
“Why me?” Richie asked innocently.
“Because she says I always have to show you up and prove I’m just as relevant as you are.” Jon told him.
“Oh for crying out loud. You're the damn lead singer. Everyone wants to fuck the lead singer.” Richie said almost jealous.
“Well Ellie doesn’t see it that way and she will kick my butt out of the damn house surer than hell.” Jon said scared to death.
“Hey what ever happened to when you gave interviews and you said when I woke up and found out I was married I said What did I do?!” Richie reminded him.
“First of all we were overseas and Ellie would never see those and two Doc made me say those you know that. What’s with you? I thought you were on my side Rich?’” Jon asked him.
“I am I’m just checking that’s all. Hey Jon Do you think BJ’s are sex?” Richie asked him.
“Well according to Ellie girls do it’s oral and what we do to them that is also. So we’re screwed either way. She says when you’re in a relationship and promised to one another you for go anyone else. She doesn’t care how lonely the road gets she is always a phone call away. Or what is good for me is good for her. How would I like someone doing those things to her that I do to someone else.” he told Richie as Richie thought about that.
“Oh Ouch! I really didn’t think about it that way,” he told Jon.
“Neither did I. So if someone touched Ellie that way I’d kill them. Don’t care if she gave them permission and was doing it because she was pissed at me. That guy would be dead. Especially if my son is in his room sleeping. So I get it. So I’m being very very being good. I love her Rich. From the moment I saw her at sixteen till now. And I have fucked things over a few times and I have been lucky to have fixed them. And this time I know damn well it wasn’t my fault and I’m going to prove it. If it gets to rough then we’ll call one of our guys to help ok? But right now it’s you and me Right?” Now he asked him.
“Yep it’s you and me because I know you’d be here for me Kidd.” Richie smiled at him.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ellie was thanking Maria for everything she did and that she would see her tomorrow. Ellie went into the kitchen to make her tea when Jimmy came in.
“Mom I’m all done with my homework.” he told her as he went into the frig to get something to drink. “Honey would you be alright if I went out to see your Father for a few days?” she asked him.
“Ya but isn’t he coming home for the holidays?” Jimmy asked her confused.
“That’s what I’m going to find out. I figure he can’t say no to me if he’s looking me square in the eyes. Right?” she told him smirking.
“I guess not. I’m I going to stay with Grandma Joan?” he asked is Mom.
“Probably I haven’t asked her yet but I’m sure you will. When doesn’t she?” Ellie smiled at her son. “Why don’t you go watch some t.v. before you have to go to bed.” she told him.
She took out her calendar again and she looked one more time and saw that if she went the day after tomorrow she could go and come back within a few days. She would make the arrangements in the morning right after she talked to Joan to make sure that they could watch Jimmy. Then she could tell Jon this time that he was going to be a Father. She really couldn’t wait to see his face. She hoped that this would make up for him not being around the first time.
