Saturday, December 11, 2021

Chapter Thirty-three

 



Jon looked at Richie and he put up both hands as to what they should do. Richie just looked back at him and shrugged. Jon gave him the Jersey salute and looked around as Richie just gave him one back. Then Rich went over to him quickly and grabbed him and opened the nearest closet and threw him into it and closed it behind him. “What the hell King?” but before Richie could respond the men that entered the office turned on the light.

“What did Doc want from here? I’m so sick and tired of tailing that long hair weirdo. Just because he fired him he wants to get even with the kid.” The first man said.

“I know but he’s paying us really good money to do it and to find anything we can on him. Now he said he had the negatives here somewhere with that hooker you know that redhead that Jodi took the pictures with. Anyway we need to get them and bring them to him because Doc’s financial backer wants them now as collateral I guess.” The second man told the first man.

Jon elbowed Richie in his side as an annoyed Richie stepped on his foot. Jon just looked at him all the while Richie was smiling at him. Jon just shook his head at him when Richie pulled out a corner of an envelope from his coat. Jon looked at it when it hit him at what it was and smiled widely.

As they heard them looking around the office Man number two said, “Doc sure got himself in trouble thou with this guy. He’d take his own mother out if she didn’t pay him back. If we can’t find these Doc is going to be really pissed. I know she gave Bon Jovi the pictures but without the negatives that guy she works for is not going to be happy.” He said looking in Doc’s desk as the other one looked in the cabinets.

“Well he’s not going to be happy then because they’re not where he said they would be. I certainly don’t want to be around when he tells that guy that’s for sure.” He told his cohort.

“Yeah it’s not going to be good. We need to get out of here. Let the boss know we can’t find it. Maybe it’s in another one of his offices like the Jersey one.” The number two guy said.

“Why would it be in the Jersey office? The pictures were taken here. Think will ya. Unless that Bitch has them. We need to talk to her and if she has them there are ways to find out. Let’s go.” He said and they turned off the light and left.

Jon and Richie walked out of the closet and looked around the office to see if they did any damage. “Rich we need to get to Cheri before they do. We left her by the car but hopefully they didn’t see her. Let’s get out of her too before we get caught.” Jon told him.

“Hey I’m right behind you.” He said holding on tight of the envelope.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cheri had paced back and forth as she got restless waiting for them and as fifteen minutes had gone by she thought she would go back to the car and wait for them there. She had the radio on when about forty-five minutes had gone by and she saw two people had come out of the building. Making sure of who they were she scooted down into the car and turned off the radio. She couldn’t get a good look at them from the angle she was at but she didn’t think they were any of Philips men. Now the only problem was did they find Jon and Richie in their wake. She felt she should stay down just in case when the back door of the car opened and two men jumped in. Cheri jumped into the passenger side because she was going to jump out and make a run for it as one of the men said, “Whoa there Darling it’s just us.” Richie told her as they both were catching their breaths.

“You two darn near scared me to death! That wasn’t the two of you coming out of the front now was it?” she said pissed.

“Nope. We saw them in the lobby as we followed them downstairs. We couldn’t take the elevator because they took it first so we took the stairs.” He told her and looked at Jon trying not to laugh as he gave him the stink eye and still trying to regulate his breathing.

“What do you mean? Were they up there with you guys?” she asked them shocked.

Jon looked at her and now said, “Yeah we were able to get in Doc’s office and start looking around when we came across some files but before we were able to look at them we saw the doorknob turn so we hid in the closet.” Jon told her as he sneezed.

“It’s his allergies. I don’t think anyone ever dusted in there. Anyway they started looking for the files too. But luckily we had them. They didn’t look in the closet but if they had well I would have had to throw Jon at them.” Richie laughed.

Well Jon hit Richie in his arm. “Owe! I was only kidding.”  He said rubbing his arm.

“You know they could have opened the closet then what? We would have had to do something. Those guys are professional’s. We’re just used to fighting of jerks in bars Rich. What if they had guns, knives? I’m going to be a Father for the second time in my life. I can’t leave Ellie hanging. What kind of man would I be?” Jon said just thinking of never seeing his children again.

“Oh God can you hear the violins? Look Bon Jovi, you have how many horseshoes up your ass? I’ll be the first one Phillips kills trust me. Because I’m going behind his back to save my own skin. He doesn’t like to be double-crossed.” She told them.

 “Don’t worry we’ll make sure you get protection when he’s in jail. But in the meantime you just need to convince that you have us totally conned. But if you double-cross us so help me God you will go down so far that no one will ever find you got it!” Jon told her as she could see it in his eyes.

Looking at him knowing that he meant business, “Yes I get it. I need to get away from here and out of this business. You can have them do that right?” she asked them.

“You do this for me and I’ll make it happen.” He told her.

Richie watched them go back and forth. Finally he chimed in. “Can we go back to the hotel now. I really would like to know what these files entail. Now do you want me to drive?” he said smiling.

“Let’s all just switch places ok?” Jon said as he got out of the car.

It didn’t take long for them to get back to the hotel and it was a quiet ride back also. Cheri sat in the back as she did on the ride there so it was no surprise to her that it was the same on the ride back. She was getting sick and tired of being treated like a leper.

Back at the hotel there was a message from Ellie and Jon would call her later. He called down to room service to get a bite to eat and something to drink. They all needed something to drink. Once the order was put in they sat down in the living area and took out the files they found in Doc’s office. They grabbed a few of them that had the name Bon Jovi on them. Jon passed them out and each of them started to look thru them to see if they could see if there was anything out of sorts.

Cheri found some invoices dating back to when they were just starting out. It looked like that Doc had taken a percentage of forty percent for himself before he had paid the essentials and the guys. Which left them with hardly anything at the end of the night. She went thru most of these invoices and they were all the same. He had taken forty percent from each event. While she was doing that Jon was tipping the guy for room service so she quickly went thru some of the other folders when she came across one that was almost identical to the one she had just went thru. Same dates and same name of the venues but when it came to the money it said that he was getting seventy-five percent instead of forty. Bingo He was cheating them from the very beginning. But what did Phillip have to do will all of this.

“Jon how much money were you getting when you guys were starting out with Doc?’ Cheri asked him curious.

“Oh God that was about nine years ago I think. When we first started out we were lucky if we got anything. We just wanted to play. So we played basically for gas money. Then we met Doc thru the record company. Everything was going so fast. He said he could do for us what he was doing for Motley. So we took a chance. I probably have the original paperwork at home but I think the agreement was something like thirty percent for Doc and seventy percent for us after everyone else got paid. Why?” he asked her know this wasn’t going to be good.

As they both waited she put the paperwork on the table. “Well you might have started out that way, but he changed your deal once the second album sold. He saw the protentional in you guys so when Slippery came out he got what looked like forty on top before any of you got paid first then after taxes and all that shit with employee’s and tour and what ever you guys lost out. You could have had a lot more from both of those tours Blue Eyes.”

Well Jon was sitting there wide eye. He really didn’t care about the money. It was being lied too that bothered him more. Plus Doc stole from him. He didn’t move. He just sat there staring into space. Richie started to get nervous.

“Well if he’s going to stay like that I do have a question.” Cheri said. “I don’t get why Philip is involved. I mean he has his hand in so many things. I don’t think music is one of them.” She told them.

“It’s not.” Jon finally said.

“It speaks.” Richie tried not to laugh as he was eating a sandwich.

“Very funny. Doc loves to gamble. He doctored those papers because he owed money. He also nearly killed us on tour adding to the dates on Slippery and Jersey and giving me those God damn steroid shots that nearly killed my voice for good. Nearly ended my marriage because I was a Son-of-a-Bitch to my family.” He said as his heart sunk.

“Yeah I don’t know how Ellie stays with you half the time.” Richie told him smiling.

But Jon didn’t think that was funny. “Are you kidding me? You want to go there now?” Jon asked him looking none too happy.

“I’m sorry Kidd. Sometimes I open my big mouth you know that.” Richie knew he over stepped and he also knew he had to watch that.

Cheri watched the exchange between the men and wondered what this broad had. She met her and she didn’t think she had anything special. “Will you two knock it off. We have other things to worry about than you’re wife and to be honest I don’t see what either of you see in her. She’s just a plain Jane if you ask me. I don’t get it really why have hamburger when you can have a steak.” She said as she took her hands and flowed them up and down her body.

Jon has now had it with her. “SHUT UP! Just Shut Up! Ellie has more class in her little pinky than you have in that…whole body of yours. So don’t you EVER say anything negative about her again. Do You Understand!” he angeringly told her as he went to the bar and got out the jack.

Richie looked at him and shook his head at him but Jon just ignored him. Richie then walked over to Cheri and said, “Look, it looks like he’s going to drink that whole bottle. So do me a favor and stay away from him as he really does stupid things when he drinks the hard stuff. So why don’t we all eat something and hopefully it won’t be such a bad night.” Richie hoped.

They finished up and Jon about finished half his bottle. Richie didn’t mind because he had gotten food in his stomach. But it was going to be gross coming back up and he was the one going to be holding his hair as he was throwing it all up in the morning. Jon was showing signs that he should go to sleep but he was being really stubborn. He kept saying he was waiting up for Ellie to call him. Well Ellie was having her own problems with keeping things down. So she decided that she would call him in the morning if she lived.

Once Richie got him into his room he was able to sit down with his guitar and relax a little and think about what they had found.

Cheri was listening to what he was playing which wasn’t really anything just something that he had in his head.

“That’s really pretty. Is it anything that I would know?” she asked him really interested in what he was playing.

“Oh nothing special Darling. Just strumming that’s all. Sometimes that’s how Jon and I come up with something. Just goofing around or we have something stuck in our heads and need to get it out or one of the other guys might have something too. It’s a group effect.” He smiled as he continued to play.

“You write for other artists also. Like Cher. You’re dating her aren’t you?” Cheri asked him.

Richie smiled and stopped playing. “Yeah so what does this have to do with what’s going on?” he wanted to know.

“Well If your dating one of the hottest women in show business, then why are you attracted to his wife?” she wanted to know.

Taking a deep breath, “Well now Darling I do believe that is none of your business.” He smiled that devilish smile of his.

“It does when my life is on the line Swing, isn't it?” she smiled right back at and him trying to also flirt with him.

“Look Cheri you’re a beautiful woman and if we met on better terms and circumstances maybe. Cher and I have an open relationship satisfied now. We get together when we want to. Right now she’s on tour and I had to call and tell her that my best friend needed me.” He told her not looking her in her eyes.

“Does she know?” she asked him taking a sip of her coffee.

“Does she know what?” he knew but apparently he had to hear her say it.

“Really? Ok sure. Does she know that your crushing on your best friend’s wife?” Cheri asked smiling.

“Not that I know. But with you fangirls’ anything is possible.” He winked back at her.

“Oh come on Rich I mean it. Does she really know?” Cheri was serious now.

“Fine if she knew she would have my balls in her pocket.” As he strummed an eerily melody.

“Oh that’s cute. Have you played that for him?” she laughed.

“You know if he just saw you the way I do we probably could have taken care of this immediately.” Richie told her as he put down his guitar.

Laughing, “Yeah right. Maybe if he was single Baby but not married to the Love of His Life.” She exaggerated on the last part  with her hand on her forehead.

“Stop will ya. You have to know he’s been in love with her since they have been sixteen. They never stopped loving each other. One of these days when they’re old sitting in their rockers they just might write about it but until then it’s their story. I know he tries to act tough about it and he may flirt when he has too, but he’ll always go home to her and their family. Hopefully one day if I’m lucky enough I’ll find my Ellie.” he told her.

“Or if he really screws up maybe that one.” Cheri got a kick out of herself.

“Not helping.” He told her getting up. “Can I trust you so I can go to the head?” he asked her.

“Yeah go if you don’t mind letting me have a t-shirt when you get back?” she asked him blowing kisses.

“Oh oh oh no I don’t mind. Ms. Cheri you are dangerous.” He said as he walked to the bathroom. Cheri just laughed as she turned on the tv.  

Meanwhile Jon was rolling around in the bed as he woke with a real bad headache. He was still feeling the effects of the Jack and he knew he shouldn’t have drank so much. He could hear Richie and Cherie talking in the next room so he just let them be. He got up real slow as his head pounded. So he stripped off his clothes so he could take a very hot shower as sometimes that would help or he would wish he could die in there. Either way it felt good on his body. He went into the bathroom and found the aspirin and took four and if he still felt crappy when he got out he’d take some more. He turned on the water as hot as he could get it and stepped in. Yes it did feel good on his body. He just stood there and let it run down his naked body and as it did he was thinking of his girl. God he missed her. The feel of her, her smell, the way she touched him. Only she could make him truly happy in everything she did. He thought of the little tricks she did when they would make love. He laughed when she told him that she bought a book on how to make your man happy in the bedroom. Yeah he laughed all right when she made him scream and jump at the little things she had learn from it. He stood there getting a little too excited thinking about it as he was smirking when he realized his little friend wasn’t as little anymore.

“Damn it! Where is she when I need her.” He shook his head. He really didn’t want to jerk off but now he had no choice. So he did his business and just let the water wash over him and then washed himself up. Getting out he grabbed the towel off the counter and dried himself off and wrapped it around himself and used the second one for his hair. And yes he took two more aspirin just to help calm down the ache in his head. Walking back into the bedroom he found his shorts and a tee and finished drying his hair and thinking of calling Ellie. He really needed to hear her voice.

Back in the living room Richie came back and sat on the couch where his guitar was. “I hear the shower so Jon’s up.”

“He didn’t stay down long.” Cheri told him taking another bite from her sandwich. “Should we make a plate for him? He really should try and get some food in him.” She suggested.

“Well I’m not going near him right now and he’ll just ask you why do you care. He can get real nasty when he drinks.” He told her strumming again.

“Really? I hadn’t notice. But I’m not a monster you know. Getting to know you guys I do care at what happens to you. If anything does I’ll have to come up with another plan for Phillip if he thinks I’m helping you.” She told him smiling.

Making a big gesture to his heart, “Oh I’m so hurt by that! And hear I thought you were doing everything from the bottom of your stone-cold heart. You are so full of shit Cheri. Your scared of this guy and you need us just as much as we need you. And your jealous of what Jon and Ellie have just as much as I am. Not many people in the business have that.” Richie told her.

Looking at him like she wanted to slap him, “Maybe but you can’t tell me that he hasn’t fucked up his marriage by screwing other women.” She told him being dead serious.

Laughing, “What goes on in Bon Jovi stays in Bon Jovi.” Richie smiled.

Rolling her eyes now, “Oh give me a break! You all fuck groupies don’t tell me you don’t.” she told him giving him the evil eye.

“I’m not saying we do and I’m not saying we don’t. But if you have a bunch of beautiful women throwing themselves at you what do you thinks happens. Plus they are giving themselves to us free of charge. So what do you think? But I’m not going to commit.” He smiled right back at her.

“You’re an Ass.” She told him taking a sip from her drink.

“Why Thank You.” He said strumming his guitar chuckling.

“I give up.” She told him and just sat back as she listened to him play.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jon finally decided he couldn’t wait any longer and picked up the phone and called Ellie. The phone rang a few times before she picked it up.

“Hello?” she said breathing a little hard.

“Babe are you ok?” he asked concerned.

“Jon? Yeah I’m fine. Just had to run from the hall to the den to get to the phone.” She told him as she sat in the big comfy chair.

“Well you shouldn’t bbbe running. What ifff you fell. Don’t dooo that agggain ok?” he chastised her.

“Oh Honey I’m fine. But I think maybe you should try and sleep it off.” She told him nicely and giggled.

“Yeahh, yeahh I had a little bit too much to drink okk. But I’mm finne  now.” He told her with one arm over his head.

“Ok I’m not going to fight with you about this. But I will tell you that I miss you.” She told him loving every moment of hearing his voice.

“Me too Baby. How’s Jimmy?” he asked her wanting to know how his son was.

“Well he’s the typical teenager not wanting to talk to his Mother. He misses you; I think he needs you because he doesn’t want to talk to me because I believe he has girl trouble.” Ellie laughed.

Jon was a little shocked to hear that. “Really? That’s grrreat. He’s embarrassed to talk to talk to you huh” he asked her chuckling and trying to stay awake.

“Of course. No kid wants to talk to their mother about the opposite sex or sex. We talked about this before. I just don’t want to well you know…your Mom saying anything to him about shit do you understand Jon?” she tried to get the point across to him. But all she could hear was heavy breathing. “Jon? Jon can you hear me? Shit! Night Sweetheart.” She hung up the phone and would try tomorrow to make sure he was alright.

It was getting late and Richie knew Jon wasn’t coming back out and he actually had a very nice conversation with Cheri and played some tunes as she listened. They also talked over what Doc had did and had some ideas to throw at Jon. They just hoped he would take them in the meaning they came
out and that Cheri did want to help.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Chapter Thirty-nine

                           Ellie had put Jimmy and his bodyguard on the plane. She still didn’t want him to go but she trusted Jon’s instinc...