Jon woke up feeling like crap. He couldn’t remember how much he drank last night. His head was feeling real fuzzy and he was trying real hard to remember the dream he had of his wife. A smile came over him and that wasn’t all. Sometimes being a guy really was a hassle. It wouldn’t be that bad if Ellie was in bed with him. God, he missed her so much. He rolled over and he felt something underneath him that was really hard and sticking in his ribs. So, he sat up as he was a bit lightheaded, but he found the problem, it was the receiver of the phone. Now he got it. He was talking to her last night, and he must have fallen asleep in mid conversation. Hanging up the phone, he was afraid that she was going to be pissed at him. Well, he would worry about that later as he got out of bed very carefully and stripped out of his clothes from last night so he could take a shower. He may never leave it.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Cheri got up early again and ordered room
service. She felt as long as she ordered coffee, she was alright in doing so. She
took her coffee over to the couch and cuddled up and turned on the TV to see what
was on and was going thru the channels when Richie came out before Jon had
gotten up. He grabbed his coffee and some toast and walked over to her and sat
down.
“So how did you sleep last night?” he
asked her, trying to start a conversation.
She looked at him and smiled, “Look
Sambora you don’t have to try and talk to me casually if you don’t want to.”
She told him as she settled on the news.
“I’m not. I’m just asking you how you
slept last night. I think Jon had a rough one seeing he slept in his clothes and the phone was off the hook.” Richie laughed.
“You mean Mr. Perfect fell asleep on his
Princess. How perfect.” She laughed at the thought of him falling asleep on his
wife.
“Well don’t think it’s that funny because it’s
not the first time he’s done it and Ellie doesn’t get that mad at him for doing
it. It’s when he doesn’t call her at all, and she leaves messages all over the
place and he doesn’t answer her is what pisses her off.” He explained to her.
“How does she live with him?” she asked
him while taking a bite of her muffin.
“Hey loved is strange.” He laughed.
“So have you told him that you’re crazy
about her yet?” she asked him while taking a sip of her coffee.
Well Richie nearly spit out his as she said
it. “Excuse me?”
“You heard me. Since being here I get the
feeling that you have this big crush on her and he just tolerates it. I mean I
know you two are besties and everything but you two don’t, well you know share
her or stuff, do you?” she asked, making a face.
“NO! Besides Jon is too possessive for
that.” Richie told her making a face right back at her.
“Yeah, I can see that. He doesn’t seem to
play well with others, does he?” Cheri giggled.
“Be nice. You just don’t know him very
well or understand him. He’s really a great guy. But you getting under his skin
doesn’t help. Try being a little nicer to him. In fact, you both are going thru
the same thing, and YOU came to us for help. So, between all of us we should be
able to get something on this Philip also to take to the cops. Now all we have
to do is get something that has Doc’s affiliation with him and you. Hey, what
about the guy who took the pictures? Do you know what his name was? Maybe we
can threaten him with going to jail with black mail or something if he doesn’t
testify or something.” Richie asked her hoping against hope.
“Sorry Love but we didn’t exactly exchange
real names. Or have conversations either. They just picked me up at the designated
spot and then dropped me off there. Then Philip called me later saying that he
was pleased with everything and that there would be a bonus in my paycheck. I
also asked him if my contract would be in there as well and he chuckled and
said that he would talk to me about that later.” She told him as she looked
down into her coffee.
Just as Richie was going to ask her about
that, Jon came out of the bedroom. “Hey morning Kidd. You finally got up. Did
you find the aspirin I left for you?” Richie laughed.
“Funny, and yes so thanks.” He smiled
weakly. He went over to get his coffee and then sat down.
Richie and Cheri just looked at each other
and Jon couldn’t take it. “What the fuck are you two looking at!” he jumped on
them.
“You man. You look like shit.” Richie
laughed.
“Oh gee thanks. And I just took a shower
too. Way to boost my self-esteem.” He told them gulping his coffee.
“Oh pleaseeee. Like your self-esteem needs
boosting.” Cheri laughed. “You are the most egotistical, male chauvinistic pig
I’ve ever known. You know you’re hot and you love it. Girls flock to the both
of you and your biggest problem is not getting caught. What I want to know is
why doesn’t she leave you? I mean she knows she can do it on her own but now
that she has you she knows what it is living the life of what royalty. So, you’ll
never get rid of her. At least til you and your band fades away and the next
new one comes along.” she told him only because she wanted to see how far she
could push him.
“You know you’re a real Bitch.” he said as
he stood up, but Richie jumped up before he could do anything.
Turning around and still holding Jon
aback, “Cheri what the hell did I tell you? Play nice right?” he told her as
Richie was upset now also.
“I’m sorry, but I wanted to see if I could
still punch his buttons. Look Philip will be able to tell if you guys are
seriously angry about me. So, I have to keep you guys on your toes or we’re all
dead. Jon, I’m really sorry but I’m going to do that to both of you occasionally
and in front of Philip also. So, when I do you guys are going to have to act
like you want to rip my head off or he’ll kill me right there in front of you.
He really doesn’t care. You two he’ll find another way. I’m just a whore who
gets killed every day.” She told them sadly.
“Cheri we’re not going to let that
happen to you. We promise. Just when you’re not testing us ease up on my wife
ok?” Jon asked her.
“Yeah, ok.” She smiled.
“Hey, you were going to tell me something
about him when Jon entered the room. What was it?” Richie asked her curiously.
“It’s ok we can talk later. We really need
to go over this folder and see what we can find on your Doc. Maybe we can
connect something, anything with Philip’s company.” She told them and to change
the subject.
“What was she going to tell you,
something? No what was it? I know you told us that he was really rough with you
but Cheri, we can help. “Jon told her.
“He’s rough with all his girls. Plus, he
has his favorites, and he has my son.” She told them as they nearly choked.
They looked at each other stunned as they
could see the horror on her face. “Cheri we’re both sorry. He’s holding him
against his will?” Richie asked him.
“No that’s the kicker. He got custody.
Philip is his father. Daniel is thirteen and I’m saving everything I make just
to get away from him. The only problem is he says I’m one of his best girls so
he can’t afford to let me go.” Cheri explained why she’s still with him.
Jon was thinking and Richie could see that
which kinda scared him. “Cheri you can still go in and out of his offices, right?” he asked her, hoping that she could.
“Well sure he still thinks I’m watching
you and if I get my chance to let you know we need the money, or the tape and
pictures are going to the press.” She told him.
“Well Ellie has that down in case those do
become available because she knows I’m out cold. So we’re both going to address
them if they do get out. But can you get in and what you can find as evidence say even the
tape and bring it back to us here?” Jon wanted to know.
“I could…if I want to get my head blown
off.” She told them sternly.
Richie looked at Jon like he had lost his
mind. “Jon no way are we sending Cheri in there. They’ll kill her if they catch
her stealing the tape, and especially now knowing that she has a kid. You know
what that’s like. Even Ellie wouldn’t do that to her.” Richie scolded him.
“Look we’ll go with her and back her up.
Make sure nothing happens to her.” He told them both.
Cheri shook her head. “Yeah, well who is
going to look after the two of you when I’m dead and they are beating the shit
out of you to the point of just being and then they dump you both somewhere and
let the wilderness finish the job but not before you feel every bit of the pain
they instill on you before you pass out. Philip will handle me himself. It
won’t be any better, but I can push his buttons to the point of having him kill
me faster than the two of you.” She told them walking over to the couch and
sitting with just a blank look on her face. Yes, she was terrified, but she
wasn’t going to show them that.
Looking at Jon, Richie said to him, “Nope
I’m going home. Sorry Bro but I wasn’t made to do this detective thing. I’m
more of a guitar, romantic type guy who gets all the girls and who stays alive.” he
told him scared to death.
Jon sat down in one of the chairs
defeated. “Yeah, I hear Ya Rich. Just go home and I’ll try to see if I can take
care of this somehow. I just know thou if I pay him this time I’ll be paying
for the rest of my life.” He told them as he put his head in his hands.
Richie couldn’t let Jon do this alone. He
was his best friend. “Ok what do we do next?”
Smiling, Jon sat up, “I knew you wouldn’t
leave me King.”
“Yeah, yeah, yeah. I’m about as bright as
you are. So, what’s our next move?” he wanted to know.
“Well that depends on Cheri.” Jon said, looking at her.
“What? I’m not going in and trying to
steal that tape Jon.” She told him.
“No, you’re both right it’s a suicide mission.
But you do have meetings with him, right?” Cheri shook her head ‘Yes’ “Ok then
you need to ask him some questions like ‘Is there a tape of us?’ He never said
there was one. Pictures yes but a tape no. Have you actually seen it?” Jon
asked her.
Cheri was thinking and all she really saw
were the pictures. “You know come to think about it no. He told me but I never
saw it. At least not the video itself. Just the casing. Oh, oh I wonder if that
is what Doc meant by he’s too stupid to realize and he’ll protect that whore
from anything. I didn’t think at first it was about you because he has a few
bands and Tommy was pissing him off about Heather. He really didn’t like him
marrying her either. Plus, Nikki getting stoned and dying every other month. He
was really getting pissed with you guys altogether and was thinking about
Philip having a talk with all of you. But Philip didn’t want to get involved
that way. But Doc told him that he would make it very beneficial for him if he
did.” she told them but didn’t understand her association with all of this. “I
just don’t get why I’m still in this whole thing. I thought I did my job, so to
speak.” As she winked at Jon.
“I know why. He wants everyone to know
that we are still together and that my marriage is over and I left my very
pregnant wife for you. Well not going to happen. That’s why we need to get the
goods on this guy. (turning to Rich) do you still have that small recorder that
you used to keep with you in case you came up with a stroke of genius?” he
asked him.
“Yeah, it’s back at my house why?” he asked
Jon.
“Well, when Cheri goes to Philip’s house, she can keep it in her purse or in her pocket on play and tape their whole
conversation. Well?” he asked them.
Cheri spoke up, “I don’t think Philip
would think that I would be taping our conversation but again you never know. I
never know what he’s thinking.” She told them, biting her lips.
“Well, we can make a cover for the
recorder.” Jon told them.
“How? If he’s determined to find it Jon, he
will.” Cheri told him making a face at him.
“Rich do me a favor and bring a walkman
back with you too ok? If they do search Cheri, we can distract him with it, and he won’t see the recorder. Just keep it in your purse too so if he decides
to search you just make sure he pulls that out, ok?” Jon told her.
“You know that might just work. You’re not
as stupid as I thought.” She winked at him and with a kissy face.
“Yeah funny. We need to take this
seriously.” Jon was now getting pissed off.
“Jon we are, and I’ll get the stuff it
won’t take me that long. Just don’t kill each other while I’m gone.” Richie
chuckled.
“I’m surrounded by a bunch of jokers.” he said and grabbed his guitar and sulked off into the bedroom.
“You know we shouldn’t do that to Jon he
is trying really hard.” Richie said to Cherie as he grabbed his keys.
“Hey, you want some company. I’m really
feeling the walls close in.” she said, trying to flirt with him.
“Um I don’t think Jon would like that. You
know he’s afraid that someone from your world will see you out with one of us
and wonder why during the day and it will get back to you know who.” He
nervously told her.
“Yeah, you may be right. He knows that Jon
is working with Emilio during the day and now you being here with well he’s
already suspicious of that.” She thought of that and was getting a little
worried now.
“Don’t do that to yourself. Jon’s right
and I’ll get the walkman’s and recorder and once we get him on record, we have
him. Plus, we both will be right there. But Jon has a lot to lose with this and we
have to nail both of them.” He tried to explain this to her again.
“I get it Richie. But he doesn’t like me. I
get why but if I didn’t do it Philip would have just got another girl and she
may not have been so, how should I put this, stupid to get involved with you
two. She could have gone running back to him squealing about what you’re doing.
Is that what you want?” she asked him, pouring herself another cup of coffee.
“Of course not. We lucked out that you
wanted out, but we’re really sorry about your kid. Look if he comes out of his
cave just tell him I’ll be back as soon as I can.” With that Richie left for
his house to get what they needed.
Jon heard the door closed and hoped Cheri
went with him. He put down his guitar and went out to see if there was anything
left to eat or anymore coffee and if it was still hot. When he turned to shut
the door, Cheri was sitting on the couch reading a magazine.
“Well, Hello Love I was wondering if you
were coming out or not?” She smiled at him.
He wasn’t in the mood to be sniped at. “I
thought you were going with Richie?” he asked her testing the coffee. “Damn”
“Richie said that both of you thought it
would be a bad idea if I went with him in case I got spotted with either of you
during the day and being too friendly if you know what I mean.” She said to him
as he picked up the phone to call room service.
“Huh? Oh yeah sorry, he’s right. ‘Talking on the phone "Hi yeah could you please bring up some coffee and some bagels,
yeah that would be great Thanks." Hanging up the phone, "how the hell can you drink cold coffee?” he
asked her shaking all over.
Laughing, “Don’t you like ice coffee?”
“Yeah, I do but with ice not at room
temperature. I thought Ellie was bad drinking her soda and even letting it go flat.”
He said as he took some fruit and put it in a bowl.
“You have a kid before this one, right? So, she knows what to do. The crackers and the flat soda that calms the stomach.
I’m sure she gives your…son?” Jon shook his head yes “when he gets sick. I’m sure
her Mother taught her that trick and so on and so on. Of course it’s hard as
hell when the cravings hit. That’s all you want till you get them. That’s no fun
either.” She smiled at him as she took what was the last of the bagels.
“Was this what you experienced?” he asked
her leaning back in the chair.
“Pretty much, but of course I didn’t have
the picket fence and all that. I gave Danny to my Mom but somehow, he got him
anyway, and he didn’t let me see him till I did what he told me to do and that
was never Mom. It took years before Danny figured it out, I was his Mother.” She
told him almost angrily.
“Don’t get all Holier than thou on me.
Ellie has been thru a lot in her life so far too. One is that my Mother didn’t
let me know that she was pregnant with my baby. She never told me that she was
writing to me or calling me because she wanted me to “so call make it in the business”. She thought
I’d drop everything and run to her.” Jon explained to Cheri.
Cheri intently listened to Jon and then
asked, “Well wouldn’t you have?”
Giving her a wry smile he replied, “I
probably would have and my Mother would have had a hissy fit. She had a problem
with her when we started to get serious. Then when she got the letter stating
she was pregnant well that set her off. So don’t get on your high horse because
you’re not the only one that had a kid at a young age.” Jon told her only
because he didn’t want to hear her complain about that she was the only in that
situation.
“I can see I’m not going to win with you.”
Cheri told him as she sipped her coffee.
“What the hell do you mean by that?” he
asked her but was saved by the knock on the door.
“Room service handsome.” Cheri said as she
finished her coffee.
Jon was annoyed enough as it was and he knew nothing that he said would make a
difference where Ellie was concerned. As far as Cheri was concerned Jon made it
and took Ellie for his wife and they both are living off the hog. Anything
before that she could care less. He had gotten up and went to open the door and
just as he did the door exploded open and three men bounded into the room
knocking Jon on his ass.
Cheri nearly fell out of the chair as she
jump up and tried to run to the bedroom so she could lock the door but one of
the very large men were able to grab her before she could. “Owe, owe, owe! let
me go!” she yelled.
“Shut up Cheri before I really shut you
up.” He told her and put her back in the chair. “Now sit and keep your mouth
shut! Pick him up.” He told the other two.
Reaching down they both grabbed each arm and
pulled Jon up and dragged him over to the other chair and threw him at that.
“Sit Bongiovi.” Jon had the wind knocked out of him. So he pulled himself
together and sat like they told him.
“Stan! Why are you guys here? I thought
Philip wanted me to report in to him?” Cheri said to them irritable.
“Well the Bossman hasn’t heard from you in
a few days and wanted to know what was going on. So what’s up with that? There’s
one in black mailing this guy and getting our money but Philip wants to know if
your fucking him on the side or going to
fuck over him so what is it?” Stan asked her as he grabbed her by the hair.
“Hey I’m doing what Philip asked me to do.
He’s waiting for his bank to get the money right Jon?” she yelp as he was
pulling a little too hard.
Jon couldn’t move seeing he still had the
two other men on either side of him and when they grabbed her he tried to get
up but they pushed him back down. “Well kid is she right?” Stan asked him still
hoovering over Cheri.
Shaking his head yes, “Yeah I’m still
waiting on the bank. I can’t let the band know what I’m doing or my management.
So I’m moving funds around and it takes a few days.” He told them looking
around at all three of them.
In the meantime they didn’t hear the
elevator arrive and Richie coming off of it. Walking down the hall he was
excited to tell Jon that he got what he wanted, when he came close to the room
and saw the door open. Slowly he approached it and peaked in and couldn’t
believe what he was seeing. At first he stood there in fear and trying to
figure out what he should do when he realized he had to get out of there
himself and get help. He backed up slowly and when he felt he could run he did
but he didn’t want to take the elevator again seeing that the bing could
attract attention. He looked around and saw the stairs and it was open so he
took off down them to the reception to call the police. He knew Jon wouldn’t be
too happy about that. He paced around trying to come up with some other plan
that would get them out of Jon’s room without getting them hurt.
He then saw the room service cart going
towards to the elevator and he had a gut feeling that it was for Jon’s room so
he went over to ask him. “Hi there. By any chance is this for room
four-seventeen?” he asked while taking out his wallet.
“Yes it is. Why?” he asked Richie.
“I think you and I can do some business.”
Rich smiled devilishly.
Back in the room Jon was getting a little
nervous as they were searching his room. What they were looking for he wasn’t
sure. He just hoped that they didn’t find the papers that they stole from Docs
office. Once they finished looking the three men assembled together for a convo.
They could hear them talking but it was to softly to get anything substantial.
“Watch them I’m going to make a phone
call.” As Stan went into the bedroom.
Jon just looked at them and grinned with
gritted teeth at them when they heard a knock at the door. They were startled
and quickly looked at Jon.
“You expecting anyone?” one of the smaller
ones asked him.
“Actually yes. We called for room service
just before you got here.” Jon told him.
“Well answer the door and if you don’t
want her hurt, so get the cart yourself and get rid of him or you’ll have
a dead serviceman on your hands.” He explained to Jon and showing his gun.
Jon got up and went to the door and when
he did he got the shock of his life when in front of him was Richie smiling
back at him. Jon’s eyes got wide and he had to think fast. Shaking his head he
said. “Hey thanks man but I’LL take it from here. I got a little hottie inside and
we don’t want to be disturb.” And he tried to take the cart from him but Richie
wouldn’t let go. He was mouthing ‘I can help’ as Jon kept shaking his head NO.
So Jon mouthed ‘Just Wait’ and pulled the cart into the room. Richie didn’t like
that but he let Jon close the door and went around the corner and waited because
if he heard anything he was going to bust threw that door.
Jon put the cart off to the side and sat
back down and Stan came out of the bedroom. “You’re lucky Rockstar. He believes
you and has given you another week. But if you don’t get the money by then You’re
going to be one hurting boy. Oh and Philip says your family isn’t off limits.”
Well Jon jumped up but got a split lip instead.
“Kid if you’re going to attack a person make
sure you can take them first.” Stan told him as he laughed at him. “Cheri you’re
to stay here with these Morons until they get the money then call Philip and we’ll
come back out and pick it up. Don’t fuck with us.” He told them and they headed
out. Richie saw them leave and sighed a big relief. Now to find out what the
hell happened.
