As soon as the men entered the elevator, Richie headed for the room. He used his key and went in but saw Jon with a chair in his hands just in case that one or all came back again.
“Hey Kidd calm down it’s only me. What the hell happened to your lip?” He asked concerned.
“I bit it, what does it look like I did?” Jon harshly told him as he went to put the chair back where it belonged.
“Fine I was just asking.” he told Jon and went to get some coffee to calm his nerves.
“Oh Richie Darling don’t fret. Jonny here is just upset because he was trying to save my honor and he got deck for trying. But Jon really Thank you for trying to stop that asshole from hurting me. I really appreciate that. It’s been a long time since anyone tried and stood up for me.” Cheri said to him, trying very hard to tell him honestly how she felt.
“It’s no problem. No man should hit a woman, even the ones I don’t like.” he told her, winking and trying hard not to make a crack at her since he finally saw her in a different light.
“Just a little but they sure as hell threaten a lot more if we don’t do what they want. They gave us another week to get the money or it’s what I believe is lots of broken bones. (pause) I’m just scared thou that those bones won’t really be ours but our families and if that happens well...that’s the last thing they’ll ever do.” she said as Jon stood there staring in space. Richie was now scared.
“Jon, did they threaten our families?” Richie asked him scared
But before Jon could say anything Richie shook him out of his daze.
“What?” he looked startled.
“I asked you a question. Are they going after our families?” Richie asked, annoyed and scared.
“Yeah I think if we don’t get the money by week’s end they will or if we can’t get the goods on Doc. Rich I’m just as scared as you are especially with the baby coming. I don’t know what to tell Ellie. Here I am supposed to protect my family and I can’t. I can put all the damn security I want on them but they’ll get to them, or worse she’ll have to live without me. I don’t know what’s worse?” Richie could see that he was visibly upset.
“Yeah I know. I want to tell Mom and Dad to high tail it out of here and just go anywhere under assumed names. But you’re right, they’ll find them no matter where they go.” Turning around he looked at Cheri. “You know we didn’t try everything Kidd.” he said smiling.
“What do you mean?” he asked curiously. Cheri just stood there looking at them worried as hell.
“Whatever you two are thinking you can forget it, I’m not going up against Philip and his goons.” she told them out right.
Richie looked at the both of them still smiling. "I don’t like it when he smiles like that. It usually means I’m going to end up in trouble. Jon told her uneasily.
“That’s what I thought.” as she went to the bar and grabbed one of the bottles of gin.
“Isn’t kinda of early for that?” Jon asked her, a little shocked.
“You’re telling me that it’s a little early? The Rockstar? I’m probably about to die so I’m going to need a little courage so yeah, I’m going to have a drink this early. So hot shot spill.” Cheri told him as she poured herself a drink of courage.
Jon just shook his head and sat down to hear his sidekick speak.
“Ok why don’t we just have Cheri talk up Doc. We haven’t tried that yet. Doc loves a beautiful woman and well Cheri is that and he knows her. What if she comes on to him and gets him drunk and talks? Then we come in and while she tapes him instead of Monroe we get him on tape. Then we have him and take him to the cops?” Richie stood there as he watched Jon and Cheri think of his plan.
As he was watching Jon he could see a little smile come across his face. Cheri let out a little ‘ump’ when she also saw it.
“Well Kidd whatcha you think?” he wanted to know curiously.
“I like it. Doc was always a sap when it comes to a beautiful woman. Cheri could pull it off.”
“Hey, I know I can pull it off!” she injected herself confidently.
“Ok you can pull it off and you better. We have a lot riding on this. We need to get our stories straight and there can’t be any holes in it if we want this to work. I’m going to call Ellie and have her send Jimmy to her parents with one of the body guards. Hopefully they’ll be safe.” he told them as he got up to go into the bedroom to make the call.
“Why don’t you just have all of them go with him?” Richie asked.
“Because she can’t fly right now. The doctor told her she can’t. It’s her last month and they don’t want her to fly.” he told them and he looked like he just got punched in the stomach. He turned back to the door and went in to make his call.
Richie just looked at Cheri and they both felt the anguish he must have been feeling.
“Well I’m glad I’m not in his shoes right now. I do know one thing is that Philip won’t hurt our son.” she told Richie as she took a gulp of her drink.
Richie looked at her, “Don’t get drunk because if I know Jon he’ll want to strategize when he gets off the phone.”
“I told you I’m only using this to calm the hell down. With you two I’m going to need it.” she smiled and took another gulp.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ In the bedroom he played with the cord of the phone because he really didn’t want to make this call. So he took a deep breath and dialed. It didn't take long for her to answer.
“Hello?”
“Hey Baby?”
“Jon? Hi Sweetie. You fell asleep on me last night.” she giggled.
Oh how he loved to hear her giggle. “Yeah sorry about that. I really need to talk to you Baby...And I need you to do this for me ok?” he stressed.
“Ok? What” this was scaring her but she didn’t want him to know just how much.
“I need you to send Jimmy to your parents as soon as possible. In the next day or so. Send one of the bodyguards with him. Can you do that for me baby?” he asked her as desperation was in his voice.
She wanted to ask him why so she just did and damn the results. “Jon why? What’s going on?” as he could hear the shakiness in her voice.
He waited a few seconds before he could get the words out. “Baby I can’t get into it right now. I just need you to get Jimmy somewhere safe ok? So just get him to your parents Please. I’ll explain everything when I can, I promise.” he told her as his heart dropped.
“Ok well I’ll call Mom and Dad and get the ticket’s and we’ll be there as soon as we can.” she told him.
Jon thought he heard what he did. “No Babe just for Jimmy not you. You can’t fly, remember?” he told her, trying to keep his cool.
“Well I can.try to be careful. But Jon, I'm not going to let my son go by himself.” she told him adamantly.
“I understand that but I’m not going to let you lose the baby. So you’re going to stay home with the other bodyguards and he’ll go with the one bodyguard. I can’t lose either of you. So please just do what I ask.” Jon asked her to the point of pleading with her.
She thought about it for a few seconds but for Jon it felt more like hours. “Ok. I’ll make the arrangements. But when this is over you better have a good explanation for this Jon. I don’t like sending my son basically alone to my parents when there is some lunatic out there trying to hurt my family. Plus Mom and Dad are going to have a lot of questions and I won’t have any answers for them.” she told him, trying hard to hold back her tears.
“I know Baby I know but this is the best way I know right now to keep you both safe. Forgive me please?” he asked her, trying to keep himself from crying too.
“You know I do. I love you so much. Just promise me one thing?’ she asked him.
“Yeah I will, I promise.” he told her somberly.
“That’s not fair I didn’t ask you yet.” sniffling, she told him.
They talked for a little bit more as they didn’t want to get off the phone. They just wanted to hear each other talk. They didn’t even care what the conversation was. Finally thou Jon knew he had to go and start the plan with the other two. “Baby I really have to go now. Give Jimmy a kiss for me and the little one to ok? Oh and don’t have it while I’m gone you hear me. I want to be by your side when you deliver. There is no way I’m going to miss this one.” he told her excitedly.
“Well I’ll do my best to hold the baby in. But as you know they have a mind of their own. But it would be nice to have you by my side this time. Now go or I’ll never let you. Call me as soon as you can. Love You.” she told him, trying not to cry.
“Love you too Baby.” and he hung up. Staring at the phone he wanted to call her back so badly but knew he couldn’t. He had to go back into the living room and finish getting ready with Rich and Cheri. This had to work so he could get home to his family once and for all.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Pacing around the room. Richie was driving Cheri crazy. “Hey handsome, will you please sit down and do anything else but what you are doing now, Please.” she asked him as she was trying to watch some sitcom she had on that she couldn’t even tell you what it was about.
Looking at her as he was thinking, he stopped short. “What? Oh sorry. Yeah I was just thinking.” he said a little disheveled
Looking at him and smiling. “Does it hurt?” she said as she giggled.
Picking up his guitar as he was sitting down on the other chair he looked up when she made her comment. “What? Oh very funny. You should be a comedian when we finish this, you know that?” he said as he stuck his tongue out at her.
“Oh Darling I bet you can do a lot with that can’t you? Why don’t we say you and I…” but Richie stopped her .
“Why don’t we put a pin in that and see if we live thru this first?” he said as he started picking at his guitar.
“Fine by me but if your friend in there decides he’s done with his home life maybe we can make it a threesome?” she winked at him smiling.
“Oh you are so trying to kill me aren’t you?” as he pinged out a sharp melody making her laugh. Just then the bedroom door opened and Jon walked out and he didn’t seem to be in a happy mood.
“Now why is it that every time you talk to your wifey you walk out with a pissy face? Hmm?” she asked him as he turned around with the glare of darts shooting out of his eyes. That's when Richie shot up, put his guitar on the chair, and stepped in front of him.
“Ok can we please not get this off with a murder of our own here? We need to make a plan to set up Doc and not keep insulting each other. Can we do that?” he asked them respectively.
“Well I’ll call a truce if he will.” she told them making kisses faces at them.
Jon rolled his eyes. "Fine I will too if she keeps her mouth shut about Ellie.” he told them and looking straight at her mainly.
“Great! Then let’s call up some drinks because there is not enough in the bar to get us thru the night or my nerves for the two of you” Richie told them as he picked up the phone and made the call and added some more food.
They spent most of the night going over a plan that they thought would work. If Doc would fall for it. He knew who Cheri was so that should work in their favor. So they beat out a plan and all three of them were ok with it. It took them most of the day to come up with what they were satisfied with so they finished with what they had ordered earlier in the day.
“So what do you guys want to do now?” Richie asked them as he set out the table in the hall as he looked carefully back and forth.
“Well when I was in the bedroom talking to Ellie I called the local security company and asked them to send some guys over later tonight. I’m not getting caught off guard again and being jumped by Monroe’s goons again.” Jon told them as he picked up his guitar and just started to strum.
Cheri looked at him like he had lost his mind. “Are you crazy! Why did you do that! If they come flying in here again and find that we hired our own security they're going to know we are up to something you Moron!” she yelled at him scared to death now.
Richie just stood there not knowing what the hell he should do. On one hand he felt a lot better now that Jon took their security in his hands, but he also knew that Cheri had a point too. Jon just sat there like he didn’t hear her. “Um Jon? Are you going to address Cheri’s concerns?” he asked him as Jon just kept playing his guitar.
“Nope.” he said as he just kept strumming.
“Yeah ok. Well, I can see your point and I can see Cheri's point.” looking around he couldn’t see her anymore. Um I’ll be right back.” he said and went looking for her. She couldn’t have gone too far as there weren’t many rooms. Maybe four. So he went to the first one by the small kitchen which was the bathroom next to it and knocked on the door. “Hey Darling are you in there?” he asked hoping she didn’t jump out the window.
“Of course I'm in here you moron, where else would I be?” she shouted through the door.
“Hey I was just asking. Would it be ok if I could come in?” he asked, standing smiling as he watched Jon just playing like nothing had happened.
“Fine.” she said and as he was still standing there trying to look cool he heard the door unlock. He took that as a sign so he reached for the door and opened it and carefully walked in.
“HI. You ok Darling? You left pretty fast.” he said as he looked around to make sure that there wasn’t anything big enough for her to throw.
“Yeah I’m just peachy. Tell me? Why the hell is he like that? Um? I mean we set this whole plan out to get your ex-manager and then he goes and screws with everything so it blows up in our faces? Why? I just want to know why!!” she unloaded on him.
Richie was sitting on the edge of the tub looking up at her when he tried to explain. “Well what I think you're mad at...would you please sit down” he asked her as his head and neck was being strained looking up at her. So she sat on the toilet and put her head in her hands. “Ok what I think you’re mad at is that he didn’t answer you or that he made that decision with the security without us?” he said as he put his hands on hers.
Lifting her head and looking him straight in his eyes and said, “Yeah that could be it. He never answers me straight Richie and that drives me nuts.” she told him honestly.
“I get that but I think the reason why is he’s just so upset at the situation that's all.” he told her not really knowing why Jon is being a jerk to her.
“Well maybe he’s being a jerk to me because he cares a little too much?” she told him. “Ever think of that?” she gave him something to think about.
Richie didn’t really know what to think about now. “Wait a minute. You think Jon likes you?” he shook his head not knowing if he knew what to think right about now.
“Well why would you think he is always criticizing me or yelling at me then huh?” she told him.
Richie had to get up and think about this for a moment. Finally he had to ask, “I thought you and I liked each other? I didn’t know you liked Jon? What the hell? He’s totally in love with his wife. Why do you think he nuts about you?" he asked her.
“I just told you? And I do like you Richie that’s why I’m a little bit confused about this because I thought you guys didn't well you know rag on each other’s likes?” she asked him.
“Well we usually don’t but he found me in bed with one of his exes so this could be a get back at me kinda thing? No, no but he also knows I have a thing for Ellie? No I really don’t think he’d pull this shit right now where I’m trying to help him where this is a do or die situation you know?” he said and he really hoped. No Jon, really wouldn't he thought, right?
“Well all I know is I’ll kick his ass if he does!” Cheri commented, pissed.
“Ok well let’s just go back out there and act like nothing happened and see what he does and if he does act like a jackass let me deal with it.” he told her as he went for the door.
Jon acted like there was nothing going on because he felt he didn’t do anything wrong. He felt he wasn’t going to get his ass kicked again and this time keep those goons under control while they do their business. He knew they were talking about him and he really didn’t care. All he wanted was to get home and see his new baby come into this world. It seemed like forever that they were in there but finally the door opened and they came out.
“Oh look, they’re finally coming out.” he said dryly.
“Hey Jon, we need to talk to you.” Richie said.
“Look Richie, I don’t have to explain why I called security. But the reason I did was because I just don’t want to get my ass kicked in again, ok? Besides, if they come back let the security guys handle it. Why should we get knocked around? I’d really like to see my baby when it’s born. Is that alright?” Jon answered him.
Richie looked at him and understood what he was going thru because all he wanted to do was to be able to go home and see his parents also. “Yeah, I get it Jon. (turning to Cheri) He does have a point. We’ll get the security in here but and I mean this Jon, that they are to stay here just in case they raid the place again. They are not to be seen in public with us or this whole thing will be blown. Is this ok with you Darling?” Richie asked her hoping she’ll go along with it.
Cheri looked at both of them and figured if she wanted this ordeal to finally stop she would have to go along with them, trust them against her better judgement. “Fine but if you two get me killed I swear to God I will haunt you for the rest of your lives.” she told them sitting down while crossing her legs huffing.
Richie turned to Jon, “She’s in Kidd so what’s next?” he wanted to know.
“Well that’s good because I already called the company to send the security team over so they should be here in the morning. Once we get them situated we can take off and figure out where Doc is and get Cheri and him together.” Jon said very casually.
Looking at him and wondering how they were going to do that? “So good looking, how are we going to find him?” She asked him kicking her leg up and down while she sat.
Jon scrunched up his face to figure out how they were going to do that. Richie almost laughed out loud but thought better about doing so. “Hey why don’t we call his office and have Cheri ask where he is? She can pretend that she has a client or something that she wants him to see and well maybe we can get his whereabouts?” he suggested to them.
Cheri was shaking her head no while Jon was shaking his yes. “That wouldn’t be such a bad idea.” he said looking at her.
“Why me?” she wanted to know.
“Because anyone there would guess our voices. Even if we disguised them. We really can’t do voices very well.” he told her as Richie just gave him a look.
“Speak for yourself Kidd.” Richie told him hurt, giving him a hurt look.
“Oh bite me Sambora. It would be better if he thinks a woman left a message, that's all. Come on Cheri you can do it. You’re a pretty good con artist and you know it.” Jon told her, smiling the smile of his.
Looking at Richie, “Does he really think that works?” she wanted to know.
“Well girls do let their panties drop for him.” he told her straight faced as Jon hit him in the arm. “Ow! That hurts.” he said as he made a boo boo face.
“Rich, no one is going to console you. So man up.” Jon smiled.
Richie laughed and turned to Cheri, “Well The Kidd is right about one thing. You can do it. So come on, do it for your son.” Richie asked her.
“Damn it Richie! You just had to say that. Fine but never put my kid in the middle of this again, got it?” she said to both of them extremely angry that he brought up her son.
“Hey ok I just thought…” but got interrupted again.
“No, just keep him out of it. I’m doing this for us. If I think about Daniel I don’t think I can do this.” she told them and needed to go to the bathroom again. “I’ll be right back.” and left to gather herself together.
The boys just stood there surprised to see her get that upset. “Wow I didn’t think about bringing up her son, well she’d act like that.” Richie said to Jon, feeling really crappy about it.
“Hey don’t feel bad because we never know how she’s going to react to what we say to her. Let’s just hope she can pull it off in the morning. Look Iet’s just try and get some sleep and we’ll take it from there. We have had a very hard day and I need to get some sleep.” he told Richie heading to the bedroom.
Richie felt bad and waited till she came out of the bathroom. “Hey, I just wanted to say I’m sorry about earlier. I didn’t mean to get you upset.” he explained to her.
“It’s ok I just got over sensitive about it. So I’m sorry too. So Jon went to bed?” She asked him as she looked around.
“Yeah he had a really tough time today so he wanted to get some sleep before tomorrow hits. I should go and check on him.” he told her starting for the bedroom.
Turning to him she said, "Look Richie I want to thank you both for helping me too. If you could tell him that I would appreciate that.” she asked him, feeling that if she did it he would just flip her off.
“Sure night Cheri.” he said as he went into the bedroom. Smiling back, she settled herself on the couch. She so wanted to call her son but she also knew Philip would have the phones tapped. She turned off the lights and just hoped she could fall asleep and hoped the morning would come fast.
Thankfully the morning did and she woke up to hearing the phone ringing. She was about to answer it when it stopped. She thought if she did answer it anyway Jon would have probably yelled at her. She got up to go to the bathroom and when she came out there were men standing in the living room talking to Jon. They looked at her and Jon just waved her off. She was used to it by now so she just went to sit down and wait to see if he was going to introduce her.
Walking over to her, “I want to introduce to you our employee Cheri Blake. These are the men that will be staying here with us. Stanley Green and Martin Powers.” Jon told her as she looked up at them with a strange look when he said employee. After all the inductions were made he explained that he had to get up his other friend Richie and he would be just a minute. He turned to Cherie, “Could you please order room service and anything these men would like also? I need to get Richie up and that in itself is like pulling teeth.” he smiled and set off for the bedroom.
It didn’t take him long to get him up as he shook him hard and nearly rolled him off of his cot. “Get up and get dressed. The security team are here, and we need Cheri to make her phone call.” Jon stressed to him. Richie slid out to get ready and finally made it to the living room where thankfully there was coffee. Cheri was ready to make the call.
She picked up the phone and without any notice Doc answered. “Hello this is Doc McGhee?” she looked at both Jon and Richie and told him Just a minute. “He picked up. What do you want me to tell him?” she asked them.
They looked at her and mouthed ‘The reason for the call’ Jon said rolling his eyes.
She threw her hands in the air with the phone but continued, “Hi Doc this is Cheri I just wanted to drop you a line. I thought we could get together and talk about what is going on and if you had any ideas on what you wanted me to do with your ex whatever you want to call him singer Bon Jovi there. “ she said, shrugging her shoulders to them.
“Well Honey I thought Philip was handling things. Why are you calling me?” he wanted to know.
“Because you know him best and I just thought if I wanted to get anything, say more on him you would be the man to talk to. So are you or not. I don’t want to waste my time here.” she told him, sounding serious.
“Well it’s about time someone was smart about this. I’m not paying your boss a lot of money for not getting any results. Why don’t you come over in about two hours and we can discuss this.” he said as he gave her his address where he was staying. Cheri wrote it down and finally hung up. Smiling, she looked at the boys and said. “Did it.”
